The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

On hating McCain

I can’t express how much I hate John McCain. I can’t stand the fact that anyone would even consider voting for that stupid fuck — he’s even worse than Bush, difficult as that is to believe.

My family is Republican, and it just occurred to me that if McCain wins, I might not be able to go home for Christmas and face them. The only thing that comforts me is that my mom might secretly vote for Obama.

August 27, 2008 - Posted by | family values, politics

10 Comments

  1. Amen!

    Comment by Alex | August 27, 2008

  2. Eh, who the fuck is John McCain? What does he have to do with you? For a theologian you take our earthly existence awfully seriously. More nonchalance!

    Comment by abb11 | August 27, 2008

  3. Man, it’s been a while since I got a theology-based concern troll.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 27, 2008

  4. I hate that I’ll probably never get a theology-based concern troll’ Damn, wrong thread…

    Still, McCain. He looks like an oval Grandpa Simpson and clearly wants to blow everything up like a traumatised child after too much orange squash.

    Comment by infinite thought | August 27, 2008

  5. Fuck, you think that is bad? Try having a parent who’s so far right he strongly dislikes the Republicans for being too liberal. Of course, he doesn’t vote – because he seems to prefer some form of army putsch in principle. This is a guy who likes Franco. McCain’s hardly even that terrible in the bizarre parade of twisted souls of the American Right, comparatively. Yes, he’s terrible but no more than the average.

    Comment by burritoboy | August 27, 2008

  6. McCain, like Bush and Reagan before him, simply exists to carry water for his invisible Masters. The role requires a rather dimwitted and pathetic character with no real life of his own.

    My vituperation, and it is considerable, is for the psychopaths behind the curtain, who know what they do but don’t care.

    Is this where I sign up for “engineering-based concern troll”?

    Comment by ehj2 | August 27, 2008

  7. Is there anyone behind the curtain? I’m terrified by the thought that there is not.

    Comment by Matthew | August 27, 2008

  8. It could’ve been even more unpleasant – think ‘Rudy Giuliani’! Praise The Lord!

    Comment by abb11 | August 28, 2008

  9. But holy shit, Hilary and Bill Clinton were great stuff. And Biden was great – I thought he was a odd choice, but in fact his age works very well, the “old guy who gets this young whipper snapper”. No British politician would start talking about what their Mum told them, and weirdly, I am developing a taste for the US messianistic politics filled with the American dream, stories, the quality of peoples heart, the dignity of work and grim discussions around kitchen tables.

    Also this ‘John McCain is my friend and I mean it but he doesn’t get anything right about anything in this election, not at all’ seems weird to someone schooled in the politics of Brtiain.

    Comment by Alex | August 28, 2008

  10. I guess your mom and dad don’t read your blog? You’re lucky…

    Comment by KH | August 28, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

