The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Temporary inconvenience, permanent improvement

For the entire semester during which I am TAing a night class, I will be enjoying random reroutes of the Brown Line on the Loop, followed by a single-track zone closer to home. At the very least, I do not usually need to go downtown on the weekends, when the Loop repairs will lead to reroutes that even a transit junkie such as myself finds confusing.

All this work, as well as the three-track work at Belmont and Fullerton, will supposedly be completed by the end of the year — at which point my transit use will likely be much less.

With any luck (i.e., assuming I actually get a job for next fall), all relevant parts of the CTA will be fully rehabbed just in time for me to move away from the city. If I do not get a job for next fall, my consolation prize will be enjoyment of the full powers of the Brown Line. Obviously, I’m torn.

September 7, 2008 - Posted by | public transit

2 Comments

  1. On an “average day” (weekday, TAing day) how much time would you say that you spend traveling on the CTA?

    Comment by Currence | September 7, 2008

  2. On days when I TA, 2.5-3.0 hours. On other days, usually none.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 8, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

