The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Zizek and Theology Note and Question

Last night I saw Zizek and Theology on the shelf of the Seminary Co-op Bookstore, meaning I have officially arrived. Probably due to the intervention of a friend of mine on staff, it is also on a little display case in the religion section.

I also have a question: have those who preordered received their copies yet? (I am particularly interested in preorders through one of my links.)

September 10, 2008 - Posted by | Zizek and Theology

13 Comments

  1. Your Amazon.com sales rank of 269,116 is a very respectable number for an academic work.

    Comment by Todd | September 10, 2008

  2. I’ve seen it as high as 40,000 — since being listed, it’s seemed to have hovered somewhere around 100,000, with occasional dips. One of the benefits of writing about the most famous philosopher in the world.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 10, 2008

  3. We preordered through your link and received ours well over a week ago…

    Comment by Tara | September 10, 2008

  4. It’s also available at the University of Illinois Bookstore. I’d have bought it, but I’ve been forbidden from buying anything unrelated to my dissertation.

    Comment by anonymous coward | September 10, 2008

  5. Still waiting … pre-ordered at Amazon months ago. I know that Australia is a long way from anywhere else in the world, but all the same …. By contrast, the (very unsatisfactory) book by Marcus Pound, ‘Theology, Psychoanalysis and Trauma’ (SPCK) arrived from the UK within a week of my order having been placed.

    Comment by Gregory | September 11, 2008

  6. I purchased a copy in Pasadena last week, at a local independent bookshop that has a nice philosophy section.

    Comment by wess | September 15, 2008

  7. I saw your book on the shelving cart at our library tonight. That means someone here is reading it.. but not buying it. Sorry?

    Comment by Rachel | November 16, 2008

  8. Yet at least the library purchased it. I count it as a qualified victory. Was it the hardcover or the paperback?

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 16, 2008

  9. Hardback with no paper cover
    Red book, gold lettering (I think)
    rather austere

    Comment by Rachel | November 16, 2008

  10. My author copy of the hardcover is black with silver lettering. The hardcovers are purely library editions with no jackets — not the “avant garde” hardcovers like in commercial publishing.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 16, 2008

  11. It probably was black with silver, but in my mind I made it red with gold. I blame hours in the library basement for all cognitive errors.

    Comment by Rachel | November 16, 2008

  12. Red with gold would be cooler.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 16, 2008

  13. Nope. It was green with white lettering. Thank God we found the final answer on this.

    Comment by Rachel | November 17, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

