The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Good times

You know what’s fun in late January after sending out like twenty job applications in the fall? Needing to send out more job applications! Seriously, those bankers and their crazy derivatives are throwing a major monkey wrench into my academic career — along with everyone else’s. Rumor has it that a variety of hiring freezes and job search suspensions are hitting even the Ivy League at this point, including the (blessedly) former president’s alma mater.

If any Chicago-based readers have the “suction” necessary to get me some adjunct teaching, or else indexing, proofreading, or other research work, let me know, because it may well come to that. (Readers with the “suction” necessary to get me into a fast food or retail management career should hold off for a few months.)

January 25, 2009 - Posted by | academia, waking up in a cold sweat

8 Comments

  1. I have to admit, though, that there’s something satisfying about cranking out the applications and having the stack of envelopes ready to mail. Maybe we should add “secretarial work” between adjuncting and fast food.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 25, 2009

  2. I’m sorry, Adam. If it makes you feel better, I’ll probably be unemployed before you are.

    But that shouldn’t make you feel better. I will look very sad as a homeless person.

    Comment by strasmangelo jones | January 25, 2009

  3. Rumor has it that a variety of hiring freezes and job search suspensions are hitting even the Ivy League at this point, including the (blessedly) former president’s alma mater.
    It’s a mix. All new faculty postings require Provost approval. The Div school still has openings that staff are trying to fill.

    Comment by rachel | January 25, 2009

  4. I for one am happy that I finally have something to blame for my inability to get a teaching position. Every year before this it was me. Now, though, it’s the economy!

    Comment by Brad Johnson | January 25, 2009

  5. 20 applications? Man, you’re being very, um, selective. I musta sent out 95 of those things.

    Comment by Marichiweu | January 26, 2009

  6. Oh come to Britain, you can live on Anthony’s floor and eat peanuts that we post you from London.

    Comment by infinite thought | January 26, 2009

  7. Either I’m being selective, or there weren’t that many openings in my discipline this year. I’ve heard it’s cyclical among the subfields within religion — one year there’ll be a ton of New Testament, one year it’s ethics, etc. This doesn’t seem to have been theology’s year, or at least I’m hoping it wasn’t.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 26, 2009

  8. I feel you on this. Sent out a couple more today. Can barely bring myself to make sure they are addressed correctly.

    Comment by Sybil Vane | January 26, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

