The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Fame

My letter on student loan forgiveness has appeared in the Tribune. At least judging from the online version, they did not wind up using the headshot they (somewhat mysteriously) asked for.

I’ve had a good record publishing “crazy” letters in Chicago papers. Back in 2005, the Sun-Times published my letter urging that if the Democrats couldn’t hold a fillibuster against Alito, they should physically obstruct the vote from occuring, and in the last couple months, the Tribune accepted my letter about how Blagojevich just shows us that there’s no reason for state governors to be so powerful in the first place.

My very favorite letter to the editor, however, was to the Flint Journal. (Forgive me: I’ve told this story before many times, but to me it never gets old.) I was an avid reader of the comics page at the time, and I was particularly a fan of Boondocks, which the Journal had banished to a little area on the page facing the main comics page (accompanied only by Frank and Earnest and Cathy — a clear insult). I wrote in claiming that it was the best comic and should get top billing. On the day the letter was published, my grandma got to the op-ed pages first and read my letter to my grandpa (without saying it was me) and asked what he thought of it. He responded, “Oh, they’re just saying that because they’re black.”

March 21, 2009 - Posted by | Chicago, media

5 Comments

  1. Grandpa doesn’t see color.

    Comment by Marichiweu | March 21, 2009

  2. The _Flint Journal_, huh? So the venerable Kotsko is from Flint? And I imagine you acquired your penchant for incendiary rhetoric from Flint! Where abouts, brother?

    P.S. And your grievance was more than warranted.

    Comment by Wilber | March 21, 2009

  3. I thought it would be obvious that they would want your picture because, when they periodically receive letters of this type, the banks solicit pictures of malcontents so that they can enter them into a database to help track you down in case you try to get away with defaulting by changing your identity, faking your death, or some such.

    Comment by Jonathan | March 21, 2009

  4. Wilber: Davison.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 21, 2009

  5. Question: is Muskegon as interesting a place as it claims to be? I’ve never been there, but I have a picture of their Hackley library on my office wall.

    Comment by burritoboy | March 24, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

