The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Bursting with pride

As moms tend to do, my mom enjoys harrassing me about her lack of grandchildren, a situation that it is presumably in my power to rectify. This week while I was visiting, we were talking to a friend of hers, and my mom said, “I think it’s about time for him to get married and start producing grandchildren.” The friend mentioned she had a daughter, so maybe she could introduce me. I asked, “Is she fertile?”

I think it says a lot about my family that both my mom and sister were really proud of me for coming up with such a snappy comeback.

March 29, 2009 - Posted by | family values

9 Comments

  1. My mother found herself moderately depressed a year or so ago when she came to accept that no heirs to the family name appeared to be forthcoming – my brother had broken up with his long-time girlfriend and my partner and I showed no inclination to get married, have children, etc. She decided to go to therapy to understand why she was so sad. She doesn’t seem to be sad anymore or at least as sad as she was. My brother is still single and my partner and I are still not married, have no inclination to get married (what a horrendous institution!), have no children and don’t have any short-term intention of having any. The only grandchild in my generation of the family (my father’s sister’s daughter) is a bastard. The mother and father are no longer together. But then, what do you expect? She was a “hostess” at a “crab shack” and he was the guy in charge of carrying cases of beer up from the basement and bringing the empties back down. She once had ambitions of being a model and then ambitions of being an interior decorator. He had ambitions of having large muscles and a Pontiac or Honda he could call his own.

    Comment by Craig | March 29, 2009

  2. Is there something wrong with those ambitions?

    Comment by ben wolfson | March 29, 2009

  3. Not especially, but there are certainly better ambitions for a twenty-seven year old to have.

    Comment by Craig | March 29, 2009

  4. They’re achievable and modest. Admittedly somewhat disengaged with society at large, but who can really blame him for that? I applaud him.

    Comment by ben | March 29, 2009

  5. So was the daughter fertile or not? Did you also discuss the dowry, or did it just seem too soon?

    Comment by transportinburma | March 30, 2009

  6. Children are horrifying, and the world is dangerously overpopulated as it is.

    Comment by strasmangelo jones | March 30, 2009

  7. “She was a “hostess” at a “crab shack””

    You got a phone number for her?

    Comment by burritoboy | March 30, 2009

  8. I’m not especially close to my cousins.

    Comment by Craig | March 30, 2009

  9. No surprise there.

    Comment by ben | March 30, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

