The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spring is officially here

The Girl and I ate outside at El Cid, officially inaugurating the “dining al fresco” season in Chicago. Chicago residents’ obsession with eating outdoors reflects a broader truth about the city: the memory of winter always haunts us, meaning that we greedily snatch at every opportunity to be outside in nice weather. In fact, there appear to be entire areas of the city that were designed from the ground up to allow sidewalk dining (along Division, for instance).

April 19, 2009 - Posted by | Chicago

6 Comments

  1. Not to be a douche, but I am counting the days until fall. People who are outside in the spring, summer and early find are loud in direct proportion to the ostensible “niceness” of the weather. I’ll be very sad and depressed and even more hateful – if you can believe it – once I can’t comfortably wear long-sleeves and jeans or cords.

    Comment by Craig | April 19, 2009

  2. Craig, I’m starting to wonder if you actually play a necessary ontological role in the world — a kind of constitutive exception of human sociality.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 19, 2009

  3. The day when Division explodes is my favourite day in Chicago.

    El Cid was awesome. However, I think Adam, or shall we say, “Dr. Kotsko,” is forgetting the best moment of the evening, when he sang a wonderful, stage-presence-filled rendition of “Strange Currencies” in a VFW hall at 2 a.m.

    Comment by The Girl | April 19, 2009

  4. Craig should put “not to be a douche” before all his comments.

    Comment by ben | April 19, 2009

  5. Only apparently contrarian comments receive the “not to be a douche” disclaimer. My status of a constitutive exception is what makes me a good sociologist, I guess. But I’m only a sociologist on the basis of not wanting to be in a philosophy or political science department – another exception, I suppose. Now, to challenge this ill-will and finish marking.

    Comment by Craig | April 19, 2009

  6. Speaking of marking, why did no one tell me doing it would make me feel like a huge douche?

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | April 19, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

