The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

A flood of good news

Within the last week, I have somehow found myself with a short-term teaching position for next year. I’ll be teaching two courses each in the fall and spring quarters in the religion department at Kalamazoo College. Everything about it seems ideal — it will give me valuable teaching experience at a great school, and they are making every effort to be as generous as possible. The only minor drawback is the commute, which is definitely manageable as I’ll only be teaching two days a week for (to me, an inveterate “semester person”) short periods at a stretch, conveniently separated by a multi-month break since I won’t be teaching in the winter quarter.

In other news, I got a royalty statement indicating that by the end of 2008, I had made back my advance on Zizek and Theology and had in fact already earned £1.44 above and beyond. By the time the next royalty statement rolls around, I will doubtless be an extremely, indeed almost embarrassingly, wealthy man.

Thus readers who wonder why the quality of this blog has been falling so sharply of late have their answer: things are going too well for me.

April 29, 2009 - Posted by | academia

8 Comments

  1. That’s fantastic, Adam… what will you be teaching?

    Comment by Tara | April 29, 2009

  2. In the fall, I’m down for Liberation Theology and Classical Christian Thought. Spring is TBD.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 29, 2009

  3. i confess i like happy people

    Comment by read | April 29, 2009

  4. Congratulations! I am jealous.

    Comment by Colin | April 29, 2009

  5. I’m sure we can convince someone to beat you up or something if you really require it…..

    Comment by burritoboy | April 29, 2009

  6. Beers on you

    Comment by Rachel | April 29, 2009

  7. Also:

    That’s kind of a big deal, man. Way to go.

    Comment by Rachel | April 29, 2009

  8. I confess that my closest approach to religion at K was the time that, dressed in a black tee with clerical collar beneath the labcoat, holding a round-bottomed flask corked with the decapitation of a chess trophy in one hand and an open copy of Morrison & Boyd in the other, I entered the Organic Chemistry lab period and blessed my cruciform apparatus.

    Best of luck.

    Comment by nnyhav | May 3, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

