The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

An early confession

This morning in liberation theology class, one of the students took issue with the overriding priority of economic poverty as the issue to be addressed. We discussed this question for a while, and I eventually said that I was something of a “class fundamentalist” or vulgar Marxist myself, then added — “not that I’m actually doing anything about it. In fact, I’m busily making my inroads into the middle class.”

After class, I walked back home and set up a service where people come pick up my laundry off my back porch and then return it completely cleaned and pressed.

September 24, 2009 - Posted by | economics

10 Comments

  1. Laundry service for all! Robots can do that shit.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | September 24, 2009

  2. I don’t even have to have any contact with an actual worker — I can just leave a bag on the porch, and it will magically reappear clean in a few days. Plus they’ll just automatically bill my credit card once a month.

    Next I’m going to hire someone to come over and put the laundry on the porch.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 24, 2009

  3. Pfft. I pay someone to wear my clothes for me. Beat that.

    Comment by reidkane | September 24, 2009

  4. I’m somewhat embarrassed to confess that I was so unfamiliar with the existence of this service that I had to re-read the last sentence of Adam’s post twice before I understood what it said.

    Comment by stras | September 24, 2009

  5. I want this service NOW. (especially considering the giant pile of clothes sitting in the middle of my living room).

    Comment by burritoboy | September 24, 2009

  6. If I can get it in Kalamazoo, I assume it’s available most places.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 24, 2009

  7. I thought when he said “set up a service” it was like “started a business”, and I thought “At long last!” Kotsko cleaning has a nice ring to it too.

    Comment by Gabe | September 24, 2009

  8. That-would-be-so-rad.

    Comment by Fred to the N. | September 24, 2009

  9. It’s probably the same way I felt when I had to drop my Marx reading seminar because its scheduling kept conflicting with job fairs, interviews, and me generating capital.

    Comment by Colin | September 24, 2009

  10. I would pay almost any sum of money for that service.

    Comment by Alex | October 1, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

