The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Songs!

So let’s say you had to name an undetermined yet relatively small number of your favorite songs “of all time,” as reflected in your current mood. If I were to do that, it would probably look like this (alphabetical by artist):

  • “Creature Fear,” by Bon Iver
  • “Moya,” by Godspeed You Black Emperor
  • “The Only Tune,” by Nico Muhly
  • “Peach, Plum, Pear,” by Joanna Newsom
  • “Magazine,” by Pedro the Lion
  • “Atom Heart Mother,” by Pink Floyd
  • “The Rip,” by Portishead
  • “Exit Music (for a film),” by Radiohead
  • “Somedays,” by Regina Spektor
  • “Radio Cure,” by Wilco
January 12, 2010 - Posted by | Music

7 Comments

  1. Honorable mention: The Beatles’ “You Never Give Me Your Money.”

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 12, 2010

  2. That Nico Muhly tune is terrific. Did you have the chance to see him and Amidon in concert? I am grateful to ben for heckling me out the door when they were in L.A.

    Comment by K-sky | January 12, 2010

  3. Using my iTunes ratings to construct such a list is nigh on useless. Songs I love, songs I loved, and songs whose awesomeness I had to recognize whatever my personal feelings all romp freely together in the top bracket.

    FWIW, I did just put up a mix of songs that I like a lot right now. The cover of This Must Be The Place, especially when set to a video that quotes one of my favorite movies, is currently in favorite song territory.

    I’m not exactly sure how to square my current mood against my all-time favorites — is that deliberately paradoxical? but I would gander that “Stay Free” by the Clash, “Born to Run” by Bruce Springsteen, “Cheat” by Franklin Bruno (as performed by Jenny Toomey), “Baby I’m A Star” by Prince and “No Children” by Mountain Goats all work. They are all songs that whether or not I feel like hearing them now, the pleasure I took in them and emotional connection that I had to them still seems genuine and accessible.

    What do you mean by that, anyway?

    Comment by K-sky | January 12, 2010

  4. I was deliberately striving for paradox, to undermine the definitiveness of my list — and also to capture something of the feel of making a mix for someone (whether romantically involved or not), and how I always feel like I have to navigate between the perennial favorites and what I’m listening to lately.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 12, 2010

  5. Physical Cities – The Bad Plus
    Waste of Paint – Bright Eyes
    Halleluhwah – Can
    Hemvägen – Detektivbyrån
    Biblical Violence – Hella
    Mercy – Lucky Dragons
    The Past is a Grotesque Animal – Of Montreal
    I’ll Believe in Anything – Wolf Parade

    Comment by micah | January 12, 2010

  6. I tend not to listen to songs, but to albums. On the way in to campus on Monday, I listened to Mobb Deep’s “The Infamous” and Pete Rock and CL Smooth’s “The Main Ingredient” on the way home. However, when doing errands, I usually leave the radio on scan–I’ve enjoyed Boston and 38 Special lately on the radio. Phil Collins and Lady Gaga, too.

    Comment by Craig | January 13, 2010

  7. When I see lists like these, it makes me feel like I spend less time thinking about or listening to music than anybody in the world.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | January 13, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

