The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Accomplishments (& lack thereof)

I confess that being on the upper side of the comments field on a blog that actually gets read is my biggest non-family accomplishment to date. I say ‘non-family’ because I fear The Girlfriend will be missed by regular readers and I therefore present to you: The Wife and The Kids. All of them are great but how many of them there is will remain non-disclosed for now (in what may well turn out to be the idle hope of creating a running gag). With ‘them’ I am referring to The Kids. The Wife is, by the way, great too.

I also confess that I have not told them of this accomplishment for fear of them reacting by saying, for instance, “O-Kay, that’s great!” whilst rolling their eyes in line with what I would interpret as the thought:  ‘There he goes again.’ Obviously, they would neither say nor think that for the simple reason they don’t speak and, probably, don’t think in English. The latter at least not when they are not playing on a game console or using four-letter words. The Wife, by the way, does speak English (albeit reluctantly).

I finally confess that I mainly said ‘non-family’ because I am proud of them, even if they are not an accomplishment and certainly not one I can claim. The latter, if one can speak of accomplishment at all, being rather the other way around.

Lest you might find some of this indicative of a praiseworthy character I do confess that in this week of the historical event I felt lousy because I had to get a new car. I hate cars and I hate having to have one and I hate having to renew it. I do understand this is a luxury problem. But, however much I hate being faced with practical problems, I do not feel bad that in my case most of them are of the ‘luxury’ kind. That said, I do feel bad not all people have the luxury of some of their luxury being problematic.

May 6, 2011 - Posted by | family values, Friday Afternoon Confessional

7 Comments

  1. I confess that yay Guido!

    I confess that I signed up for this nonsense tomorrow. I confess that most of my team, including the person who originally rallied me into it, have dropped out, and it’s down to two friends who I organized and me. I confess that I should probably drop out — my mom’s in town for mother’s day — but part of me really wants to go through with it. As my mom said when I gave her permission to go do a spa day instead of spectating, “it’s not every day I get to see you compete in an athletic event.” I confess that my mom is a capable understater.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | May 6, 2011

  2. I confess that I had a dream last night in which Adam was, in the front yard of his suburban home (replete with white picket fence and yellow-painted house), complaining about how, with all this sun (and the midday sun was indeed quite bright!), it was impossible to sufficiently water the grass to keep it from yellowing and dying. He very much wanted a green lawn, and only then could he finish the sequel to “Awkwardness.”

    I confess that I have no idea why I would dream about the host of a blog where I lurk and do further confess that I don’t care to discover why.

    Comment by M. Showperson | May 6, 2011

  3. I confess to confessing only because posting this comment brings the Weblog within 3 comments of rolling over 1000 on the old odometer.

    Comment by ebolden | May 6, 2011

  4. 2

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 6, 2011

  5. I confess that how much do I love my new job? SO FUCKING MUCH. It is a total luxury gig — humane hours, interesting, meaningful work, sweet and very hilarious colleagues, and lunchtimes spent sampling the diverse (in quality, not in cuisine) food options in the hitherto-unexplored industrial wastelands just north of Orange County. It’s kind of ridiculously great. Fortunately the slow-motion trainwreck which composes the rest of my life persists, so I’m not, like, unrecognizably happy or anything.

    Comment by jms | May 6, 2011

  6. I confess that I neglected confessing on this momentous day, when Guido took over.

    I confess that I unceremoniously dropped two conversations with strangers today. In neither case was I unjustified.

    I confess that I am eager to get back to writing the sociopath book next week, after a long break to attend to other matters.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 6, 2011

  7. I confess to actually having confessed only once. It was more or less obligatory. I don’t remember to what I actually confessed. Probably gossip, as the rumour was that that was the safest way to go. I fo remember that I was sent off to silently say a couple of Hail Mary’s and also some Our Father’s. I didn’t know either by heart and just sat there, feeling guilty. Maybe that was as it should be. It was the end of that for me.

    This was a bad day. On top of it I blew what is a perfectly good confession.

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 7, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

