The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: aspirations (& lack thereof)

I hate that I seem to be abandoning all of my aspirations. It is like I am trading in old things that I valued for hard cash. This reminds me of the time when I sold almost all of the books that I accumulated over the years to finance some plumbing that needed to be done in our house. I hated that. I still hate it. I remember these books. Sometimes I try to find them in the hope they were amongst the 20-30 that The Wife convinced me to hold onto., only to realize they are well and truly gone.

Likewise I feel like I am letting go of my aspirations in order to do allow for some fancy plumbing on my finances. Maybe it is because I’m finally wise enough to understand what the generation before me had always understood: it takes money, money, money to make your world go around. I think I forget about winning the Nobel prize, about finally studying what I should have studied to begin with and about making the link between Habermas’ ethics & Davidson’s linguistics that will not only explain how to make this a better world but also why a world so made would be a better one.

I hate to admit that I forget all that for the same reason I forgot to study what I should have studied to begin with: I want to be financially independent. I forget all that because I’m hurrying towards earning myself a financial independence that is probably Sisyphean in nature. I hate myths, certainly when they are carrying some truth.

[Don't worry, ben, I will be doing nothing the next weeks but I will schedule like a real Nostradamus Hatred galore for the next weeks. Don't worry, josh, I'll schedule them for my noon time giving the right amount of air for Monday Movies Wins It Big Time.]

July 19, 2011 - Posted by | Fundraising, Tuesday Hatred

19 Comments

  1. That was a bit depressing of a read.

    I hate jammed fingers. I jammed by thumb yesterday in a game of basketball-I forgot how much a simple jammed finger can hurt!

    I hate slippery slope arguments. They are slippery.

    Comment by William | July 19, 2011

  2. I hate when I send someone an e-mail or a text message, and they call me back. And worse, leave a voicemail. This is infuriating.

    Comment by jms | July 19, 2011

  3. I hate talking on the phone. I hate the poor reception my cell phone gets in my first-floor apartment.

    I hate the bugs that have recently infested our building. We put out those traps where they have poisonous food that the bugs will take back to their colony and they’ll all die, and we put a couple out in the entryway, where the bugs really congregate. I kind of hate myself for telling The Girlfriend that the entryway looked like “Roachwitz” yesterday.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 20, 2011

  4. You may not live far from my grandfather’s old chicken store, which a cousin once dubbed “Chicken Auschwitz.”

    OT: Someone on Twitter yesterday asked if anyone had ever played “Marry, Fuck, Kill” with the Holy Trinity.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 20, 2011

  5. I hate having water in my ears and I hate that, in the immortal words of Jemaine Clement, “conditions are just right” for both mosquitoes and deer flies this year.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | July 20, 2011

  6. I hate getting in my car and having it be so hot that my nostrils burn.

    I hate when I’m running and an insect with a stinger flies into my mouth. I especially hate that I know it had a stinger because it stung me on the tongue. I guess I should say I hate than an insect did that since saying I hate when it happens implies it’s not a unique event. It fucking better be a unique event.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 20, 2011

  7. it seems a unique event since it made me laugh and comment, today, not the brightest of the days
    i mean what an exotic place to be stung by an insect, never happened to me at least, i confess i remember the mosquito bites in the sitting place when we’ve been to the countryside and i wonder what would happen if i’ll login via fb

    Comment by read | July 20, 2011

  8. I hate the second Bridget Jones movie.

    (Sorry. I don’t really have a deep bench, Tuesday Hatred-wise.)

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 20, 2011

  9. Ha ha. I remember a friend of mine being stung on the tongue by a bee in high school marching band. Their tongue swelled. I rolled on the ground laughing and could not make out a single audible word which she was yelling at me.

    Comment by William | July 20, 2011

  10. To be clear though-I hate bugs that sting people on the tongue.

    Comment by William | July 20, 2011

  11. I was genuinely concerned about the possibility of a swollen tongue since breathing while you’re running and the heat index is 95 isn’t all that easy with a normal-sized tongue.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 21, 2011

  12. I hate sprinklers. I hate being sprayed by them accidentally, even when I’m very hot, and I find the idea of “playing” in them incomprehensible — it’s possible that I’ve never once in my life run around in a sprinkler, because I find it so dumb.

    I hate shorts. The very idea of shorts in general offends me, and I particularly hate that the standard form of shorts for men during my entire life has been “cargo shorts.” Not only are the pockets unnecessary and ridiculous, but most people don’t iron their clothes anymore, such that the pockets always look dishevelled and sloppy, particularly the flaps.

    I hate sandals. I hate how flip flops flip and flop about. Such footwear is suitable only for intra-apartment building wear — for instance, trips to the laundry room or taking out the garbage. They might also work for the beach, but it will surprise no one to learn that:

    I hate the beach. All that sand! That horrible, nightmarish sand everywhere, in between your toes, rubbing them raw in combination with those accursed flip flops. At least in my part of the country, the water is always almost unbearably cold until very late in the summer. But swimming isn’t the main reason people go to the beach — no, they just want to sit around for hours. How fun! Let’s just fucking sit around! Let’s get a sunburn and read in an uncomfortable position and get sand everywhere (including in the book!) and swim in scrotum-shrivellingly cold water! What fun! Let’s make a day of it!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 21, 2011

  13. I agree with Adam’s hatred SO much. I only wear shorts (non-cargo) when running. I hate sandals and have only softened my stance because their ubiquity has worn me down. As for the beach, I hear beach and only think of self-consciousness about my fair skin and the melanoma that would accompany addressing it if I cared. But I don’t go to beaches so I don’t give a shit about my tan.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 21, 2011

  14. Adam’s occasionally mentioned book Fun, we now know, will be but a paragraph, published in 200-pt font.

    Comment by Brad Johnson | July 21, 2011

  15. looking at the sea and walking barefoot on the sand if the beach is without people and the day is not too hot is quite nice i believe, otherwise i share the same hatred of beaches plus i hate feeling uncomfortable in the beach wear, bikinis and whatnot, even looking around there are not that many people who look good in those
    last time i’ve been to the beach was two three years ago, in the Coney island, the last day of the historical amusement park they were saying, people seemed like millions of them, hot breeze and a lot of garbage
    but not ironed things to wear i can only welcome cz i hate ironing more

    Comment by read | July 21, 2011

  16. Like most, I wish to reiterate Adam’s contribution. I have a single pair of flip-flops which I wear to take the dogs outside, do the garbage and recycling, and, if I’m feeling exceptionally lazy (i.e., too lazy to tie the shoelaces) to go to the grocery store (but, in silent protest, I keep my socks on). This week I’ve worn the same flip-flops in the water because the bottom of the lake is exceptionally gross and shoes are generally impracticable when worn in five feet of water.

    I really, really hated the mosquitoes last night. I easily had like eight dozen of them all over me at the same time. They followed us into the water, even when we were like thirty or forty feet from the shore. Horrid.

    I also hate the people across the bay–shut the fuck up. Sound carries over the water. I don’t care about your stupid fucking conservations. I also hate fishermen (in general, obviously) but especially those who think nothing of casting their death-hooks about five feet from me. If you reel this fucking fish in, you’re not making it home, shithead.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | July 21, 2011

  17. I have no opinion of sandals or shorts. All points in their favor reside solely in the beautiful forms of some of those who wear either. Exposed beautiful flesh is a beautiful flesh. There is much not-so-beautiful flesh, too, and I’m not against its being covered. But I must take issue w/ a few points in Adam’s summertime hate:

    1) Sprinkers
    2) As to beaches, that’s a more difficult issue. I used to hate the beach. Loathed it. But since moving West, it’s become the place for me. There is a sheer job in “discovering” a beach that nobody else seems to frequent–typically the ones that require climbing and/or walking will do the trick. I’m not much of a swimmer or a surfer, though I do enjoy watching the latter from the cliffs of Capitola, and we ought never discount the exfoliating crunch of a hard sand against our soles. And the pull of the tide against the ankles, as far as I usually go, is a subtle reminder of something that I always forget when I return to the blanket. And, of course, frisbee. Of which the only thing of note Dave Eggers wrote: Run you motherfuckers run.

    Comment by Brad Johnson | July 21, 2011

  18. God I hate my frisbee-throwing deficits.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 21, 2011

  19. Perhaps it is unsurprising that the beach would be a relatively unappealling place in the midwest, but better on the west coast.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 21, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

