The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred of “What has the world come to?”

I blame television. And YouTube. Google in general. Maybe FaceBook and Twitter too, although my intelligence on those is limited. I hate how all of those conspire to bring us every piece of bad news as if the world is coming to an end, a bloody and horrible end. I hate how somebody got Paradise and Armageddon in the wrong sequence. I hate how everybody fits  the facts to that sequence. The right order is: first Armageddon and then Paradise. It’s all uphill from here. Take television or YouTube or Google (don’t know about FaceBook and Twitter), without them we wouldn’t know a percent of the bad news that is out there. The point of bad news is that it is recognized as bad and as news. The absence of good is news. I hate we do not cope well with the higher perceived frequency of bad news. I hate we’re all lousy statisticians. As if what you don’t see doesn’t exist, or didn’t exist.

I hate left and right equally insofar they agree on thinking that there were better, more innocent times in the past. I hate it that many people seem to accept as obvious that Paradise was lost. I hate it that even more people think that Paradise has to be regained, if necessary forcefully and overnight. There would be a lot less hatred if we’d put the whole Paradise thing in the garbage bin, in the metaphor crusher, out with the bathwater. Time to grow up.

Call me naïve. I’ll hate you for it. Tell me it’s nothing special. I hate nothing special. But first and foremost I hate stress and a sense of urgency and platforms, particularly when they are burning. I hate activism as much as I hate fatalism.

I do not hate that people want to feel rich. I do not hate that Ice T and Coco make up for the most popular search items to get to this site. There is nothing wrong with wanting to be like Ice T or Coco. There is everything wrong with not being able to be like Ice T or Coco. What would the world have come to when we would have gotten stuck in more innocent times?

Ah yes, I hate Tolstoï too.

August 16, 2011 - Posted by | television, Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. I hate Kidney Stones, especially the one that I have right now.

    Comment by Richard McElroy | August 16, 2011

  2. I hate that Richard has kidney stones.

    I hate it when people claim that the left and right are equally guilty of something. What a strange coincidence that would be if two opposed political movements shared the exact same flaw, to the exact same degree! The number of such shared failings they are supposed to have beggars belief.

    I hate that iTunes refuses to start up for some reason.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 16, 2011

  3. I just got back from a vacation in the Finger Lakes region of NY, where I did a wine tour with my wife and two other couples whose company we enjoy. So I’m not feeling too hateful.

    I do have further evidence I hate grappa (tried it twice and both times it seemed better suited for a racecar fuel). I also hate that the two Homeaway properties we’ve used for wine tours, while great with friendly owners and property managers, can really hold you over the barrel for security deposits.

    This most recent one told us finding one cigarette on the grounds would forfeit a $500 deposit. So when we found the patio area littered with them, we cleaned them up and sent the manager an email explaining none of us smoked. I hated that.

    Finally, I hate that I’m sending this from home because my wife is sick with food poisoning (the part I hate) and I’m tending to her.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 16, 2011

  4. Adam, the operative word there was ‘insofar’ not meant as they are the same but meant as, regardless of left and right, I hate those who believe there were better, more innocent times in the past.

    Also, I hate lots of people and things so there are bound to be things and people on the left that I hate.

    Finally, I hate that Richard has kidney stones, especially the one he has right now.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 16, 2011

  5. But Adam is right, my hatred has nothing to do with left or right.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 17, 2011

  6. the world is in a such state that a 4 yo have to take her sandals off for the airport security and it’s so normal
    maa, whatever makes the flights safer maybe
    i hope RmE feels better, spasmolitiks and beer i remember were the remedies for his condition, hope he’s taking the best health care available

    Comment by read | August 17, 2011

  7. has, i hate to reread my comments and find the simplest mistakes and internet in beijing, no fb, twts or g+, and every other page is not responding

    Comment by read | August 18, 2011

  8. It’s better than the 4 year old keeping her sandals on and walking across the Atlantic to see her grand parents, isn’t it?

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 18, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

