The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred disclaims disclaimers

I hate it when people feel the need to first condemn the violence before they feel free to discuss the origins of said violence. I hate that in cases of disasters there is pressure to first underline that disasters are by definition unintentional before coming to the analysis of why this or that disaster makes more victims.

I hate disclaimers. Disclaimers protect against challenges from people who cannot disclaim their impropriety because it’s so apparent that it would be laughable to disclaim anything. As such the amount of disclaimers  is a direct measure of the stupidity level in certain discussion. Or worse: of the interest in covering up the real causes of some effects.

I hate being tired. I hate dreaming dreams wherein everything goes wrong for me. I don’t know whether these dreams are the cause or the effect of my tiredness. I would appreciate opinions on this matter.  I tend to believe it is the effect for, in these dreams, I try and I try and I try but I not only know what could happen but I also know that it will happen and I feel the pain that the others will feel merging with the pain of trying to avoid it knowing it’ll be unavoidable (even it is, strictly speaking, not unavoidable because why else would I be trying to avoid it?). If I only knew what wreck is coming my way, I would be able to try for real to avoid it in real life. But I don’t, all’s well even if I feel that it won’t end well. At all.

I saw this in a museum and I didn’t hate it. It is without disclaimers.

I hate that this picture will cause discomfort to some readers. I hate I can do nothing about it. I use the verb ‘can’ here in a very personal sense.

August 30, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred, waking up in a cold sweat

3 Comments

  1. I hate having a beautiful day at the ballpark ruined by the Tigers playing like shit. I do not hate that at the Tigers’ home field, Comerica Park, I can sit 12 rows away from the field for the price of upper deck seats by the third base line at Yankee Stadium.

    I hate communities that feel it’s unnecessary for them to provide sidewalks and the high alert you must be on to run or walk in these places. I hate that these same communities commonly try to opt out of bus service because “none of their residents use it”. I hate that if you try to discourage people from living in these types of spaces and explain the inequitable housing situation they’re perpetuating, you receive a look as if you’re saying these communities kill unicorns and leprechauns. I hate that I’ve pretty much given up fighting that fight.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 30, 2011

  2. I hate that The Girlfriend’s bank seems to have executed one of her transactions in a way that (a) was not what she asked for and (b) was apparently designed to maximize fees. As a result, she woke up in the morning to find a substantial amount of money apparently missing from her checking account and worried she had been robbed — which in a way, she was.

    I hate seasonal allergies. I hate cars. I hate taking cabs.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 30, 2011

  3. “I hate cars.” I actually like cars, but I hate the need for one and would love to be able to get by without one. Our last two big vacations were to SF and NY, and it’s unspeakably great to be able to use public transit.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 30, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

