The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred of Guy Tar

I think I went from The Sweet:

to progrock:

hating every kind of rock music in the middle:

.

I was in the car with The Eldest Son and we happened to be listening to an alternative music charts program. The Daughter had apparently left the radio tuned to a non-news channel. After a song or two we gave each other a WTF look, an endless repeat of the same old Pearl Jam song seemed to be upon us. When the countdown was at 7, they called a listener for their top 3 (obviously his n° 1 was in that very spot 7, I hate predictability). It emerged he was himself tops 7 and he clearly did a read-out of what one of his parents had prepared for him including all kinds of praise for the Foo Fighters. This led us to the OMG look.

I hate this constant drizzling guitar whining with corresponding singing without articulation. I hate that as my generation comes to mothering and fathering the whole damned thing makes a come back via the kids. Let them be cool in their own way. My taste may be good or bad but, regardless, I am happy to report that The Kids don’t share it. To be honest I do not have a clue what they like.

September 27, 2011 - Posted by | Music, Tuesday Hatred

7 Comments

  1. Privacy law makes it really hard to concretely discuss what I really hate this week. I liked R-Bils in “The OC,” but I really hated “Hart of Dixie” last night. Metacritic is too generous giving it 43/100. More like -43/100.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | September 27, 2011

  2. I hate that I left a potential client hanging on a project for several months now. It’s kind of their fault that they haven’t followed up with me, but the hatey part is that the guy who scored me job will feel he wasted my time. Fortunately, I determined that I hate the prospect of doing the job more than the prospect of letting people down by not doing it. This will determine a course of action, including a painful phone call or two.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | September 27, 2011

  3. I rather like Sweet, though.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | September 27, 2011

  4. i hate i am bored though i have a lot of things to do

    Comment by read | September 27, 2011

  5. I hate it when people exit a bus which others are trying to enter by walking away from the rear exit, then exiting from the front exit, then, once they’re off the bus, walking toward the rear (what is now from their perspective) entry. It would make a moderate amount of sense for them to use the front exit if, when they got off the bus, they continued walking in the direction the bus was facing (assuming that they were starting from a point between the rear and front exits, otherwise there’s no excuse whatsoever), but when their actual destination lies towards the rear of the bus it doesn’t make a lick of sense even from their own perspective.

    Comment by ben | September 27, 2011

  6. The fact that people do this either demonstrates that people have perverse desires or refutes all of modern economics.

    Comment by ben | September 27, 2011

  7. A dumb cousin to the behavior Ben describes is a person who tries to get on the elevator before letting out the people who are exiting. What’s really frustrating is inevitably, they have this look on their face like, “If only there were some way we could avoid this absurb dance in which we must engage.” It makes me want to give them a stiff arm in the chest and just yell, “Wait! For two fucking seconds, wait.”

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 28, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

