The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred is Wholesome, like punching a punching bag

Sometimes I feel like hitting people. Sometimes people feel like hitting me.

There are for instance moments where people will confront me with talk about their unease about certain changes that affect ‘people’ adversely in a general way. At such moments I have been known to point out to that the adverse effects in question might well be of a more personal than of a more general nature. I may well have continued by stating that before such changes were enacted they had complaints about the lack of any changes and more specifically the lack of changes impacting ‘people’ in general (in this case, obviously, subtracting themselves from the over-all need for change).

I hate it when individuals resist something because they have personal issues with it but go on to express their dissent ‘for the general good’. Note that I don’t hate it when people have and voice personal issues. I just hate that they take their pars pro everybody’s toto. I hate it because it seems to me a fundamental lack of empathy to be unable to include in your reasoning that the thing that is bad for yourself might in fact be good for another.

I further hate that many who talk a lot about the general good are fundamentally unable to look past their very personal preferences being extrapolated to the whole world whether the whole world wants to have those preferences or not.

Maybe I just hate people that believe that they are doing the right thing ‘despite the world going down the drain’. If in fact the world is going down the drain (which I emphatically do not hold to be the case) it is precisely because so many people are un-self-critically certain that what they are doing is, obviously, the right thing.

I hate that whilst I wanted to be lighthearted and use practical examples I wound up being, again, very conceptual and  at the same time (yes, that’s the word that comes to mind:)  drab.

At least I didn’t wind up hitting anybody. Feel free to hit me. I won’t mind as long as it is in the form of Tuesday Hatred.

October 18, 2011 - Posted by | observational humor, Tuesday Hatred

6 Comments

  1. I hate that I collapsed a quarter mile short of completing my first half-marathon. Severe dehydration was the cause despite drinking a shit ton of water the day before and morning of. I blame dressing too warm. I’m better now but since they couldn’t find my wife and hadn’t told me yet what was going on, there was a while where I literally thought I was going to die alone in a marathon medical tent. They eventually got a hold of my wife, got 4 units of IV fluid in me, got me to the hospital for tests and I’m alive and well enough to post about it here. There was plenty of hate-worthy shit going on Sunday, though.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | October 18, 2011

  2. Ugh, sorry about that, MiT. I hate my sloth, but not quite enough to change it.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 18, 2011

  3. i hate weblog ate my comment on the movies

    Comment by read | October 18, 2011

  4. i watched last week, so people won’t know my opinion about them

    Comment by read | October 18, 2011

  5. Thanks, Josh. I’ve kind of gone in stages of grief since the finish. At first, it was, “Well, no more long races for me.” Then it was, “man I came so close, what a bummer”. Then it was anger at myself for not knowing to dress more efficiently. Now it’s pretty much impatience to register for another one and do it right. I’m not usually all “Rah rah, go get ‘em” but it annoys me to have trained for so long only to come so close.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 19, 2011

  6. I hate that no sex is better than bad sex.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 20, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

