The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred has failed you (& hates itself even more for it)

Whilst not being able to fall asleep despite having taken the medicine prescribed for falling asleep more easily, I told myself (quietly, The Wife already being in REM) I was to type this sitting at my desk. Two thirds of a day onwards I find myself with my laptop on my lap lying in bed.

Don’t you just hate how you can keep on promising yourself to better your life?

I blame society. If society wouldn’t be acting like an old fart that missed all of its opportunities and now just wants to help us not missing our opportunities, none of this promising would happen in the first place. I may be obsessive out of nature but I sure as hell am only spontaneously obsessive about what other people do (or, more accurately: don’t do).

But as things stand I can’t even promise myself that I won’t promise myself anything else!

So society will have to change and allow me to accept myself in all of my useless unreliability. I hate society anyway. I will enjoy how it bleeds from ever increasing masses joining the universal party of giving the middle finger to living up to their expectations. Let the minority of over-achievers rule in the knowledge that the ruled don’t give a shit.

I also hate that there are multiple versions of anything. Just give me the browser with the plug-ins (and keep any toolbar that just reduces the effective area of my screen offering me options that I will never use) on the operating system of the device. Update it whenever you want but please don’t tell me about it,let alone ask me whether I want it – because I do not want it unless it’s necessary and if it’s necessary it is stupid to ask me whether I want it. Don’t treat me as if I care about the stuff you are doing. I don’t. It just annoys me. It should annoy you as well because whilst you are doing it 5 others are also doing the exact same thing, all in the name of efficiency.

Just don’t upgrade to a system where a new comment needs to be input on top of the old comments. Accepting most of us read from top to bottom, please start with the oldest entries and work your way down on the page from there. That’s all.

November 8, 2011 - Posted by | innovative technologies that shape our lives, Tuesday Hatred

11 Comments

  1. Hi,

    I have an off-topic question on an older post, but you don’t seem to have a contact form, maybe you could add one to this site.

    Best regards,

    W^3

    Comment by w.w.wygart | November 8, 2011

  2. I hate post-nasal drip.

    Comment by ben | November 8, 2011

  3. I hate contact forms but ask the question and maybe somebody will answer. We are not specializing in on-topic remarks afaict.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 8, 2011

  4. I suspect W. W. Wygart is spam.

    I hate worrying pointlessly.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 9, 2011

  5. At least it is classy spam. I mean W^3, that’s almost 9!

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 9, 2011

  6. I’m back with my question, been busy on my own blog the last few days.

    My question had to do with your June 24th post, Friday Afternoon Confessional: Un PoCo PoMo. What is “un poco pomo”

    Richard Landes over at the Augean Sables makes a reference, “In an article in Ha-Aretz, where he argues a stylish pomo-poco case that the prisoner exchange reveals Israel’s racism, Alon Idan makes a number of statements that reveal the counter-empirical assertions that necessarily underly his argument:”

    I’m guessing from the context, that it’s a latin dance of some kind but I couldn’t dig up any references, but wound up at you blog. I know poco a poco from music [little by little] but my Italian translator couldn’t help me. I could just ask Landes myself, but then I would be loosing creds, wouldn’t I.

    Regards,

    W^3 a highly intelligent spambot, or a very witty wight.

    Comment by w.w.wygart | November 13, 2011

  7. It’s short for Politically Correct and Post-Modern, adding Un to make it sound Latin. See it as defying the bad press both of these concepts got over the past decades. If this is not sufficiently off-putting you can click my pseudonym and check the tag on my own blog.

    I confess I am happy spambots are not yet this classy.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 14, 2011

  8. Thanks for the input.

    I was hoping that it would turn out to be some obscure cousin to a ‘moresca’, it would at least be an interesting metaphore, it’s a little disappointing to find out its just another hip way to refer to an impoverished thought process.

    And by the way, the cube of W would be 125 using the traditional value of W=5 in gematria.

    I’ve bookmarked your blogs too.

    Regards,

    Wygart

    Comment by w.w.wygart | November 14, 2011

  9. If only it were hip. The relation between 125 and 9 allows being expressed by ‘at least’ when the pair is ordered correctly.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 14, 2011

  10. Sorry, you lost me there.

    “The relation between 125 and 9 allows being expressed by ‘at least’ when the pair is ordered correctly.”

    Ciao

    Comment by w.w.wygart | November 14, 2011

  11. You lost me first. Damn, do I hate a condescending little twats.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 15, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

