The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred of “Yeah, right!”

I hate people who are structurally nonplussed. They are like walking cold showers. I would very much like to give each and every one of them a golden shower in return.

  1. A: I really like that painting. B: Yeah, right! Let her first show she can make a boring photographic reproduction of a vase with flowers, then we’ll know whether she can really paint. Maybe.
  2. A: This person has a good idea about handling poverty. B: Yeah, right! Let her first earn a couple of billion dollars and eradicate polio in Afghanistan like Bill Gates, then I’ll listen to her advise. After listening to Bill’s.
  3. A: Finishing a first draft of my novel really gives me a sense of accomplishment. B: Yeah, right! You had better first manage to convince a large volume publisher to carry the title before you feel anything but shame about spending your time on such an egoistical endeavor. And, by the way, your sentences are too long and the plot unravels too slowly (if you can call it a plot in the first place, nobody even dies).
  4. A: That movie made me feel really good. B: Yeah, right! As if you feeling good is more important than eradicating world hunger.
  5. A: Let’s try that for a change. B: Yeah, right! We cannot even deal with what we have and there you are again with a change. People need stability in order to be efficient, you know, and you are making them all so excited that they don’t even realize how inefficient they already were.

B: What we need is for people to do some hard work and focus on their job at hand. We need them to put their heads down and realize nobody is going to save them if they don’t save themselves. A: Nope, wrong!. Just look at the miserable piece of boring shit you are, the only thing you have achieved is infecting others with the belief that you are the true standard of achievement.

That, and anything running software that needs me to actively upgrade it or causes me to pay for other software that will ensure that the first software keeps on running or causes me to rely on things that suddenly vanish as if they never were. Gates may or may not have single-handedly eradicated polio in Afghanistan but he has certainly also legalized annoying many of us with problems that are unsolvable without spending a lot more money on what created the problem in the 1st place.

Sorry but in the true Xmas spirit I could not resist repeating stuff that has been going on for ages just for the sake of some tradition that has as its only virtue that it is a tradition.

December 20, 2011 - Posted by | torture, Tuesday Hatred

12 Comments

  1. So I guess you would get some satisfaction if one could prove that it is people like B who write said software. In the meantime you can de-stress by fantasising this is so :-)

    Merry Christmas

    Comment by Schizo Stroller | December 20, 2011

  2. i hate usps seems lost my parcel i sent home with the new year presents, i’ve tried to track it today and there were no any info past 12/07, they said they’ll open an investigation to find its whereabouts within 24 days, what 24 days when the new yr is in two wks! it’s the second time, they lost a book i sent to a coworker in the summer of fifty dlrs worth and it was never recovered, what a year, such a hateful last surprise of this year, i can’t wait it’s over

    Comment by read | December 20, 2011

  3. should have bought their insurance and made it certified registered and all together, stupid me, i thought it’s safe if it’s international priority mail and before it used to go okay, though once it went to california and the people who got them were kind to return the box to me and i paid just the ups postage, even if past new year i hope they’ll find it, at least there is a tracking number, the book i sent through the post-office and threw away the receipt during moving i guess so there was no shipping history left on the account, again i know it was my mistake, but still no less annoyance with the postal service

    Comment by read | December 20, 2011

  4. I hate that I no longer have “Adam’s Shared Items” to read.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | December 20, 2011

  5. I hate A4 paper, at least in North America, where we don’t use such nonsense sizes. Why can’t everything be in letter paper? Easier to photocopy, easier to scan.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | December 20, 2011

  6. I hate that people still have occasion to hate paper and postal services.

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 21, 2011

  7. A4 is indeed a foolish size. You might is well fold it in a cone and stick it on your head

    Comment by Schizo Stroller | December 21, 2011

  8. I hate that in the UK, since the advent of the Big Society with the concurrent attack on welfare benefits, the majority of adverts for jobs in the sector that is supposed to help the people who have ended up on benefits for whatever reason, and that the government would like off benefits are now most likely to be themselves unpaid voluntary posts. Go figure.

    Comment by Schizo Stroller | December 21, 2011

  9. urah! the update says it passed the customs clearance so tomorrow they’ll deliver it, USPS FTW! thanks, GN and sorry for disturbing people’s festive moods, happy holidays to all

    Comment by read | December 21, 2011

  10. I hate hearing people give excuses to why they don’t give to United Way here at work. Every year it’s the same. “They help fund abortions.” “They give money to a non-profit that sued the city (where I work).” A couple times when I was feeling frisky I pointed out that you can specify a single entity who receives all of your donation, and that you can certainly pick one that you have no such issues with. “Well, I heard they take too much out of your donations for administrative fees.”

    I’m sure there are valid reasons not to give. Maybe the admin fees excuse is even one of them. I’m also not saying anybody is a terrible person for not giving. It just seems clear to me the people I’m listening to don’t want to give and manufacture their excuses to make themselves feel better. I wish they would just have the balls to say, “I don’t want to give them money.”

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 21, 2011

  11. Oh, I also hate that not extending the Bush tax cuts on the rich supposedly would have been a tax hike. But extending the current payroll tax rate is being termed as a tax cut. I know such intellectual dishonesty is so unsurprising it’s hardly worth getting worked up about, but that in itself is worthy of hatred.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 21, 2011

  12. I don’t particularly like charities but I concur with MiT’s hatred for bullshit reasons not to contribute.

    I am therefore proud to boast about The Youngest Son having collected 50 Euro (yes, that damned currency) for a Flemish event to combat diarrhea. Numerically that is more than 5 times his age, so I pronounce him The Great Ant of Philantropy.

    Eat that, Gates Bill!

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 21, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

