The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday’s Top Ten Hatreds

  1. Dignados².
  2. Stuff, specifically stuff that is a prerequisite for other stuff.
  3. Not being able to say no to a big opportunity.
  4. “greta gerwig nude”.
  5. More stuff, especially the stuff coming after stuff is broken.
  6. Not getting a big opportunity to say no to.
  7. Microsoft (see 2. and 5.).
  8. “Penelope Cruz telling the naked truth to Javier Bardem to get his ass whipped, would make a pretty picture.”, just to get back at people typing in things like 4. in a search engine.
  9. Pontificating about Europe, particularly: Krugman, Paul².
  10. Do it Yourself³.

²: I know, I know, but even in minorities the minority opinion should be respected.

³: Replaceable by any three-word concept: Sense of Emergency, a Burning Platform, Pay for Performance, … I repeat: Do it Yourself.

 

January 10, 2012 - Posted by | innovative technologies that shape our lives, Tuesday Hatred

3 Comments

  1. I hate inarticulate hatreds. I hate top tens. I hate that of course I had to google number four because (and I hate this) who can be expected to keep track of minor non-entities, or even major non-entities. I hate celebrity. I hate that given enough time somehow the knowledge of who these doofises are seeps inexorably into my brain and for no discernible reason I know who they are – and I still don’t care.

    I agree about stuff though, it’s a bitch.

    Comment by grackle | January 10, 2012

  2. I hate that I don’t know whether the other freelancer on this project is my collaborator or competitor. My workaday pathological optimism would normally steer me in the direction of assuming that we’re working together until someone says something different, but that ice is getting thin.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | January 10, 2012

  3. I’m sorry Josh, that you took it that way. Not that I didn’t realize this one wasn’t going to make me any friends. 2012 (or, rather, the end of 2011) has seen me getting back to my pathological foul mood. My hatreds are genuine now. That said I hate that I made you feel that way. I remember fondly your piece on ‘mumblecore’, and seeing the search term is like a nail scratching on a blackboard. Let me hope the ice will not be broken. There can be no competition because I’m not a match. I have little time to write stuff so I jot down what I have. Disclaimers are boring. (I will change my automatisms to schedule my posts for later in the Tuesday).

    Comment by Guido Nius | January 11, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

