The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: 140 character sins

Bless me Father, for I have sinned. My last confession was probably about 23 years ago and even then there’s no way I confessed all my sins. You see, I knew my priest personally and had zero interest in telling him about all the things that had passed through my strange little 13-year old mind.

I suppose my first confession is that I very much enjoy Twitter and Facebook. I am not the apologetic user I come across so often who says that yes they have an account, but they never post anything. I have nothing against these passive social media users (my wife is one, after all) but I do like to point out that Twitter and Facebook would suck much worse – they would be Google+ – if more enthusiastic users did not exist.

I confess to thinking that people who scoff at Twitter as being for young kids doing insubstantial things don’t know that the hell they’re talking about. Personally, I started using it to increase the readership of one of my now abandoned baseball blogs. I quickly realized that if I followed the right people, I could use Twitter to have nearly instantaneous access to ANY breaking baseball story. I’m sure this seems trivial, but I’m also fairly certain you could use Twitter to stay atop of just about any other topic in a similar way.

As for Facebook, I confess to enjoying (and abusing) the constant opportunity to crack wise. I further confess that when people complain because they hear so much about other people through Facebook rather than through more traditional means, I want to ask if they’d prefer to not know things about the person at all. Because there is an enormous population of people who I’m perfectly fine reading about on Facebook but would spend zero iotas of effort to follow any other way.

As my final confession, I will fess up to hateful thoughts directed toward people on Facebook and Twitter who use the medium to post nothing but inspirational quotes. This is by no means, and in no sense, my final sin. Now please keep my penance to Hail Marys and Our Fathers. I would need help getting through any Apostle’s Creeds and I’m not even sure I know how to work my way through a rosary anymore.

March 2, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional, innovative technologies that shape our lives

4 Comments

  1. I confess that my time in the Greater Kotsko Metroblogistan Area has gotten me more curious about theology and religion in general. These Apostle’s Creeds of which you speak! They intrigue me.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | March 2, 2012

  2. I confess that I know all the prayers of the rosary in Latin, including the Apostle’s Creed.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 2, 2012

  3. I confess I had enough trouble just remembering the confession protocol. I almost forgot about saying, “This is my last sin” at the end. The confessional equivalent of “over”, I suppose.

    Comment by mattintoledo | March 2, 2012

  4. I’m fairly easy going in the classroom, but yesterday, I got really annoyed with some students and told them–direct quotation–“to shut the fuck up.” I occasionally f-bomb, but I don’t usually do so in reference to students. Anyway, it seemed they were really angry and upset that I would have the audacity to insist that they not talk and giggle when other students–who were actually participating in class–were talking. And to think that I’m scheduled to teach not one but two first year courses next year…

    Comment by Craig | March 3, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

