The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: You [Bleep]ing [Bleep]

I confess I took a four day vacation last weekend and Friday was the first of those four days. When I first thought of FAC, it was about 7:00 and I was sitting at a restaurant, out on their lakefront deck, eating salmon and sipping down a Pacifico. That may sound like I’m flippant about my FAC duties, but I really do hate when I forget to make an effort to get something posted.

This week I was driving to work and a woman cut me off. She had been tailgating me, but I was already following the car in front of me too closely and getting over wouldn’t have done her any good. When she got the slightest bit of daylight in the center lane, she whipped over, passed me and squeezed into the too small space between my car and the one in front of me. This left about three feet between her rear bumper and my front bumper and I was sure to hold that distance for a while so she realized how close she had cut it.

When the traffic in our lane slowed down, I passed on the right and as I caught her eye I found myself calling her a couple of vile names. Not only did I say them, I made sure to be looking right at her as I did so. It was then that I kind of snapped back to sanity. What the hell was I doing? In my efforts to show my displeasure with her reckless and impatient style of driving, I had crossed several lines. A couple of these may have included recklessness and impatience.

I confess this feels more like a real confession than most of the things I post here because I felt awful about my behavior. I also felt awful about how common it’s become for me to get visibly angry about inconsiderate drivers. So for the third time in less than a month, I decided to cut out something I didn’t like about my day-to-day life. First, after being inspired by this very space, I gave up all forms of word snobbery. Then it was pork. Now, it’s road rage.

How about you good Friday reader? When you look back on the last week (or two), do you find any ugly bits that bring you shame? Please, feel free to attempt to cleanse them through sharing. Especially if it makes people overlook the ugly episode described above.

September 7, 2012 - Posted by | boredom

3 Comments

  1. Well, I worked so hard two weeks ago (not in hours, I never work long hours) that – by the time it was Friday – I had no energy left and it took me most of the week-end to recover. But that is not the confession part, this is: I confess that notwithstanding the fact that I ran myself down I so obsessively wanted to have ‘the most perfect’ week-end that I wound up wrecking it also for The Wife and The Kids.

    I further confess that living and working in the same city was mainly inspired by the desire to avoid being in a car during rush hour. I am sure I would have wound up killing somebody if I didn’t. Not that I’m any better on a bicycle. In fact I am worse because I am very much like the woman in Matt’s story. Earlier this week I drove on the wrong side of the road (because it felt like a half a second shortcut) and almost bumped into a cyclist who was on the right side. We came eye to eye and she swore; luckily she was beautiful because otherwise I might not have snapped back in time.

    Comment by Guido Nius | September 8, 2012

  2. The disappointing weekend sounds tough and I’m sorry to hear of it.

    I wonder if not wanting to ruin high expectations for an event is why so many people essentially remove themselves from events by either recording them on video or by texting other people who aren’t there. If you spend all your time saying, “OMG! How awesome is it that I’m here?!” there isn’t as much danger of stopping to realize it isn’t as awesome as you’d hoped.

    Comment by mattintoledo | September 10, 2012

  3. So very true.

    Comment by Guido Nius | September 10, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

