The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Workshop: Preferences

I’ve made cursory references in this space to an essay I’d like to write about Louis CK and something I see as a theme in his comedy. I don’t want to get into it too much, but there is an aspect of the piece I’d like to write I’m struggling with.

Such an essay would need to make multiple references to examples of Louis CK’s humor as evidence that it’s actually a theme and not just a one-time deal. My question to the reader is what do you think is the best way to reference his humor? My first thought is video clips from his standup and his show. My hesitation, though, is I almost never watch video clips embedded within articles. I assume I’m not alone in this.

But really, what are the other options? I suppose since the purpose of my article will not be to make the reader laugh I could use transcriptions of the bits or episodes I’m referencing. I suspect, however, that could slow the article down to a clunky (at best) pace.

The only other option I can imagine is assuming the reader is familiar with Louis CK and give only brief descriptions of bits I’m drawing from. That would avoid the annoying problem of a half dozen video clips (each with “skip to 0:54″ instructions) and would also keep the essay trim. The problem, of course, is it would exclude anybody who’s not very familiar with Louis CK’s standup and/or show.

I hope whatever ideas and preferences we dig out of each other are helpful for everyone. I assume it’s a dilemma anybody who’s wanted to write about television or cinema has faced from time to time. Of course, I could be wrong. Maybe my aversion to watching clips as companions to written pieces is a sign of my impending curmudgeonliness.

October 24, 2012 - Posted by | Wednesday Workshop

3 Comments

  1. Embed the clips with designated start time (google “set youtube time” to see how), use shorter excerpts in text form for those of us (myself included) who don’t like to click on the video.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 24, 2012

  2. Do as Josh says and make the text refer to the clip so that if you don’t watch the video you can’t follow the text (it will make it harder to read but those who read it will have the experience you want).

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 27, 2012

  3. Thanks you two. I should be able to finally get that essay going since baseball (and training) will be finished one way or another Thursday. I think I’ll post it here and then see if I can generate more hits by sharing it elsewhere.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 27, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

