The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Running on Empty

I confess I’ve allowed my fandom for the Detroit Tigers affect my mood this week. I’m not the type of crazy fan who lets it affect their entire life and I don’t link my self esteem to how well the team I’m rooting for is doing. But when watching the first two games of the World Series, I have not had fun. It’s felt like work and I have done a lot of blaspheming and uttered many vulgarities.

I confess to feeling the number of political ads in Ohio have become oppressive. It certainly seems like there are at least two every commercial break and I get a half dozen phone calls per day. I confess the avoidance of these types of phone calls is the sole reason we still have a landline. Whenever we have to put a phone number on something we suspect will lead to our information being sold, we put down our landline. I confess I rarely even look to see who’s calling when that phone rings. I just assume it’s somebody trying to sell me their product (or candidate this time of year).

I confess to pride over my finish time in my half-marathon last week. I had trained to be able to finish in 1:50:00 and ended up doing so in 1:48:17 (See that Paul Ryan? Runners know their best times, you pathetic lying piece of shit). I confess to trying to hide my pride by acting nonchalant and dismissive of the accomplishment when people act excited for me, but inside I’m going, “I know! Right? Isn’t that awesome? I was the 700th to finish out of over 13,000 runners!”

I further confess that I got a massage after the race to avoid muscle and joint stiffness and was a little disappointed when my massage team was two big hairy guys with calloused hands. When I was finished and left the massage tent, my wife was waiting for me and I told her my masseurs were two bearded men. She kind of chuckled and said, “Yeah, I saw them.” I told her she’d be relieved to know it didn’t move.

October 26, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional, media

14 Comments

  1. Sure, she ‘saw’ them.

    I confess the lack of reaction to my posts is eating away at my energy to devise them. Is blogging slowly dying, is it just my idiosyncratic use of topics or is it same but without the ‘syncr’? I would like to know. I confess none of that insecurity eats away at my certainty that I will wind up changing the world. It is a matter of time. I started reading up on probability and statistics again, riveting stuff.

    I also confess I don’t know Louis CK so I would launch the clips if MiT would embed them in his essay.

    I finally confess I’ll try to do a Wednesday Workshop next week.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 27, 2012

  2. Guido, I read your posts but usually find myself with nothing useful to say afterward. So I suppose it could be the topics but I also think its a mistake to tie quality to comments generated. I do understand the frustration, though.

    I look forward to your Wednesday Workshop and hope we can be helpful for any problems you might be working through.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 27, 2012

  3. Thx Matt, I appreciate it. Was a little tired yesterday, it led to a moment of weakness. I know my posts don’t invite comments, and that’s all right. If comments were important I would have better continued the traditions.

    This blog is looking for new readers, maybe of the less angry kind ;-) Anger is so out.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 28, 2012

  4. I confess that Mrs. K-sky is pregnant, due 3/14 (π!). We were calling the baby “Pastrami K-sky” but I think that we need a new pseud.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 28, 2012

  5. Also, nice work on the marathette, Matt! That’s awesome. My last athletic accomplishment was a performance trophy from my blue belt test in fourth grade.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 28, 2012

  6. Congrats, Josh, and thank you. Given the due date, clearly the baby should be called “Pi in the K-sky”.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 28, 2012

  7. Congrats, I’d go with K-pi.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 28, 2012

  8. congratulations, Mr and Mrs. K-sky! next year they say there will be a harvest of the extraordinary, genius becoming babies, worldwide, the high statistically calculated probability of which i read somewhere, and my fellow aries baby will surely have an auspicious life
    if everything will be okay and everybody survives the mayan apocalypse of course, this sandy stuff sounds ominous around here but i rejoice two days of extra rest i confess

    Comment by read | October 28, 2012

  9. Thanks everybody! I like your predictions, read.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 29, 2012

  10. i confess i am bored with two days of rest, with the work mail not working not sure whether tomorrow will work too, but i’ll try to go and see
    i thought maybe this

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2012/10/07/proof-of-heaven-a-doctor-s-experience-with-the-afterlife.html?fb_action_ids=10152192049095265&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_ref=article&fb_source=aggregation&fb_aggregation_id=288381481237582

    could be interesting to AK and others, but it seems he never reads over here anymore which is pretty strange, to keep two websites and abandon one of them altogether, but I find his science course updates interesting, so will post it here anyway
    so a neurosurgeon claims he’s got a proof of heaven literally having visited there during his coma, it was in the news a few weeks ago, but maybe the larchik opens simply and it could be explained by this

    http://www.cell.com/neuron/abstract/S0896-6273%2810%2900052-8#Summary

    and this http://scienceblogs.com/notrocketscience/2009/05/07/electrical-stimulation-produces-feelings-of-free-will/
    IANAneurosurgeon of course but maybe when his frontal cortex was shut-off, though he says his global neocortex was not working, it was documented to be shut down by all the possible imaging and functional studies he says, due to E. coli meningitis if it was that severe inflammation, but the inflammatory substances released in the process by the bacteria and neurons themselves could irritate the seemingly not working cortex, so the parietal cortex somehow could have been operating and he experienced then what he had experienced, some visual and other sensory hallucinations, while unresponsive to the outside due to his frontal cortex not working or maybe still working but in that heavens visiting bizarre ways, those substances could work just like some sort of narcotics to visualize those splendid visions
    the frontal cortex thinks thoughts, dissociatively, if only 10% of decisions is made there if, and if without the parietal cortex involvement, which is the seat of one’s will, intention and subjective consciousness, the left dominant one being involved in language, reading comprehension and writing, if to take those away from the conscious state then not much is left it seems out of what comprises consciousness, as if like, just thinking one’s thoughts, without language and reading comprehension would make those thoughts mute and inexpressive, flowing passively without the integrative function of the parietal cortex
    i mean, i wish people would more and more be able to get double specializations, like, someone specializing in humanities/philosophy would do the medschool or some other science, physics etc. and vice versa, taking just what is needed, not surgery, therapeutics or ob/gyn, anything applied to practice actual medicine, but just all the basic science courses like anatomy/physiology, biochemistry, some pathology, neurology, psychology/ psychiatry to explain such phenomena as above, as if like integrating all the existing knowledge so to speak, AK’s course sounds like that, focusing more on the history of sciences i guess, just it’s too long to study that way, one studies one’s own subject first and then has to teach already and the people with multiple phds do not evoke much of ‘regular’ people’s trust due to the, as if like, “maniacal” quality of their abilities, if it’s a more usual educational practice then it would become like a more widespread thing, and beneficial to the educational system to function like perpetually plus educating like the true renaissance people, win-win all around, needs a lot of money i guess, but if profs would themselves pay their tenure money to study those courses then it’s maybe like feasible economically
    it seems just the ordinary mds and even the md, phds, not the genius types, maybe there are many dr houses out there in real life, never met one, so they seem are not much concerned about things outside of their narrow specializations, ime, to ponder about the eternal truths so to speak, so the neuroscience studies or the behavioral ones, at least the popular science articles about them sound then too like simplistic, naïve, when the philosophy majors alone seem like are not very well equipped to consider those truths without that, thorough knowledge of what a human itself is, structurally and functionally, physiologically, i mean, only perhaps after knowing all that one could truly consider its spirituality, otherwise all the talk about being& etc. would sound to a naturalist, like, meaningless, when philosophers would say something about that, science reductionism
    so it goes as a proverb says, decanting from the empty to the void, maybe

    Comment by read | October 30, 2012

  11. or maybe i just get moderated too

    Comment by read | October 30, 2012

  12. oh, so those were the links, sorry

    Comment by read | October 30, 2012

  13. another subjective reason to distrust the doc in the link is his bowtie, seems like someone who can be too that, impressionable, and concerned too much with the things exterior, perhaps
    i confess i endorse larvalsubject’s comment on the aufs science post but suspect something wrong with his site cz my pc crashes every time i open it to read so can’t follow him
    about the parietal lobe impairment causing
    one’s transcendence, i confess i got a white streak in my hair after my mom died right in the right parietal projection, somebody should study graying patterns perhaps and see whether there is some connection in those things

    Comment by read | November 1, 2012

  14. oh, the early onset parietal graying is common in women they say, now if they asked what caused it maybe that could have been almost the study i wished for, nda

    http://www.medicaljournals.se/acta/content/?doi=10.2340/00015555-1181&html=1

    Comment by read | November 1, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

