The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Workshop: Short and sour

So, yeah, I have promised to reciprocate sharing my writing projects where I need help.

In fact, one of my key problems is that I promise too much (mostly to myself, that’s another probably related problem I have). Consequently I generate vast amounts of text (just check this site or check the thousands of words produced on this site) which I never bother to review because I’m always more interested in clearing the next promise. One of the reasons is, I guess, that typically there are no reviewers. It’s like knowing you stay at home and knowing nobody come to ring your doorbell; you don’t bother.

So I’m sorry I don’t have more than this at this point in time (I promise to be more content rich another time) but the ask is this: how can I force myself to do the polite thing and dress up when I am going out with some writing?

November 7, 2012 - Posted by | Wednesday Workshop

4 Comments

  1. My best success at writing consistently has been when I treat it like a task that can’t be pre-empted. I’ve done it where I wrote at the same time every day, and others where I treated it like a class – working certain blocks of time of the week. When I break the habit, my habit starts to slide.

    Comment by mattintoledo | November 7, 2012

  2. I think you are right Matt, and as I cannot afford the habit at this point in time I’ll just have to kick it.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 10, 2012

  3. I have the bad habit of seeing articles like that and thinking, “Oh great! There goes that idea!” when of course, there are probably very few ideas which are completely original.

    Comment by mattintoledo | November 19, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

