The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Best alternative to negotiated agreement

I hate it when young Wolfson neglects his hating duties. At the same time, I am not surprised by his negligence today. His hatred has dropped off in intensity in recent weeks, and he needs time to recharge.

I hate airport security. I hate that on my way back to Chicago, insult and injury joined in fellowship as my boarding pass gave me a papercut — a bleeding papercut! I hate that we are probably stuck with stupid airport security routines forever, because no politician wants to pull back and then be blamed if an attack happens.

I hate that when I was at Powell’s yesterday, they miraculously had precisely the book I was looking for, but retrieving it would’ve required the use of a ladder, and I was unsure of the protocol surrounding ladder use and unwilling to ask about it. Who goes to a used bookstore to talk to people? Seriously. I hate that once I went there, and this pretty cute girl was working and seemed to be scoping me out, perhaps even making up tasks that would require her to be in the same part of the store as me, but I responded not at all — again because I didn’t know what to do. In retrospect, there were so many options! This was also at a time when I wasn’t dating anyone, and it may well be that the “dry spell” undermined my always questionable confidence, an irony I hate.

Is that techincally ironic? The condition that made me available also made me unable to pursue someone — that’s ironic, right?

I hate that my milk-use pattern always seems to leave me with milk a day or two beyond the expiration date. I hate how unpredictable milk’s post-expiration date behavior is: sometimes it goes bad right away, sometimes you have three days. This morning, the milk proved less durable than past gallons, consigning me to toast rather than cereal for breakfast. Although perhaps not rising to the level of outright hatred, this situation was suboptimal.

I hate that Obama seems to be really fucking up the banking issue.

March 31, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

7 Comments

  1. Do you all hate me? Hate hating?

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 31, 2009

  2. I hate it when your shrink is all, “Dude! You should totally, like, make yourself vulnerable, open yourself up to the possibility of something good happening, and take risks, and be optimistic and shit!” and then you’re like, “OK, that does sound kinda rad! Being dead on the inside hasn’t been all that great, so maybe I should try to be a little hopeful, even if it means I’d be leaving my flank exposed!” and then you’re quickly reminded again that vulnerability is for suckas.

    Also, I need a haircut. And you all know how I feel about haircuts. To wit, I hate them.

    Comment by transportinburma | March 31, 2009

  3. I hate that dating people that blog (pot, kettle, to be sure).

    I hate that I misread something this week on a blog, and in turn proceeded to freak out in a ridiculous way.

    I hate that I tend to consume ridiculously large quantities of milk when I buy it. I almost never get it, but when I do, I drink giant hot mugfuls of it. I hate cold milk and milk on cold cereal. Only hot, or in hot chocolate, or on grits or oatmeal. On a related note, I hate when I oversalt my grits.

    I hate that I can’t find my glasses, a product of cleaning yesterday. I hate that cleaning always results in me losing things.

    I love that my social life seems like it will be very active and full for April, but I am already hating how much money I will be spending on these social dinners.

    Comment by The Girl | March 31, 2009

  4. I hate Obama’s banking policy, and his foreign policy, and his decision to double the size of a torture camp that’s already bigger than Guantanamo, and the fact that his climate agenda – already far too timid to prevent catastrophic global warming – is likely going to be even further watered down before it gets to Congress.

    I hate Larry Summers. I hate Rahm Emanuel. I hate his vapid soulless guts. I hate the tendency of liberal blogs to call him “Rahm” or “Rahmbo,” as if they were on cuddly terms with random amoral Washington hacks. I hate the tendency of liberal blogs to make increasing use of the term “progressive,” a word that means less and less every day.

    I hate the Center for American Progress, which recently released a paper on Afghanistan that was even more hawkish than Obama’s. I hate that the American anti-war movement, never terribly impressive to begin with, has more or less completely abandoned any appearance of principle since Obama’s rise to power.

    I hate that my hatred today is entirely consumed with the political and devoid of the personal, seemingly confirming various my online stereotype, which I also hate. Well, fuck it.

    Comment by strasmangelo jones | March 31, 2009

  5. 4.last: Just declare that the political is personal and you’ll have both bases covered.

    Comment by transportinburma | March 31, 2009

  6. I hate that I didn’t do the hatred. I hate that the time since the last time I got laid is nearly 50% of the time since the first time.

    Comment by ben | March 31, 2009

  7. I know this is late, but I can hate on not a Tuesday, right?

    I hate hearing over and over about Ward Churchill’s conflict with CU-Boulder. I hate how anyone who doesn’t agree with him now thinks they can dismiss his opinions without a second thought because of one specific controversy. I also hate not being close enough to the situation to know if his claim that all of this is because of the essay he wrote is true. I hate all of the emotion this brings up in me about professors who held controversial beliefs and were dismissed on similarly questionable grounds.

    Comment by Marissa | April 2, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

