The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Marcello!!!


I confess that The Girlfriend and I have a running joke of exclaiming “Marcello!” in imitation of the crazy girlfriend from La Dolce Vita. I confess that we watched Marco Ferreri’s Dillinger is Dead at the Siskel Film Center last night and found it to be a little “much” — though the soundtrack was great, particularly the song that accompanied the opening credits. Here is the trailer:

Here are the opening credits:

The whole movie seems to be on YouTube in chunks, if you’re interested.

I confess that I most likely gave myself food poisoning Tuesday evening through negligence in either cooking or food storage. I confess that although I hate being sick, there was a definite sense of relief when I realized I really couldn’t do anything at all. For example, at one point I went out to check the mail. It was there, but I left it because actually sorting through it seemed like too much work.

I confess that I’ve finally broken ground on the awkwardness book. After two days of writing (interrupted by food poisoning), I have roughly 300 words. I confess that I could probably speed up at some point, since I have after all been talking and thinking about this project for years now.

I confess that my body appears to view fast food as “normal.” Even after a few years of trying to be more healthy, my body still doesn’t seem to have entirely figured out what to do with vegetables.

June 5, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

12 Comments

  1. If you haven’t had a chance yet, check out Ferzan Özpetek’s films I just discovered through a friend, I would look at something like Facing Windows or Saturn in Opposition.

    Comment by Mikhail Emelianov | June 5, 2009

  2. They are enqueued!!!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 5, 2009

  3. I confess that I’m going to be late again. And that I’m doing a crazy PTA-type project for my kid’s teacher’s end-of-year present (teacher is moving away). And that I’m in a cranky mood, probably b/c I haven’t eaten anything today. And that I’m hungry. And that this is the lamest confession ever.

    Comment by bitchphd | June 5, 2009

  4. so food poisoning, rehydration, salt
    i mean shouldn’t eat raw or half-cooked things
    what i’m listening to kita kuni no haru
    it’s a japanese enka, one of our artists looks whistled it, always liked its lyrics and melody
    perhaps i’ll move too one of these days, i mean i confess

    Comment by read | June 5, 2009

  5. I confess I don’t “get” Fellini. I watched La Dolce Vita and that one with the circus dude (La Strada?) and awhile back, and none of them really grabbed me all that much. Well, was kinda cool in some ways, because you could tell it was made by a crazy person, and so I’d probably watch that one again. But really, La Dolce Vita—what’s the big deal? A bunch of glitterati running around postwar Italy, IIRC.

    Further, I confess that I let some produce go bad because I was too lazy to prepare in a timely fashion the “salad” mixture I had planned on bringing for lunch.

    Comment by transportinburma | June 5, 2009

  6. I confess that I first watched La Dolce Vita in 1977 with another Velvet Underground fan, and we’d seen Nico’s name in the credits, and so we spent the first half of the movie wondering when Nico was going to come on, or how we would recognize her in her part, and then this girl calls out “Marcello!” and Marcello calls out “Nico!”, and we were both at least as amused as you and the G. I confess that I would describe Nico’s character as “the crazy girlfriend” but as “the crazy model” or more likely still as “Nico”.

    I confess that in the one hour I had for web reading/commenting this week, I broke A White Bear’s blog and I feel terrible about it.

    Comment by Ray Davis | June 6, 2009

  7. “would NOT describe Nico’s character”

    Comment by Ray Davis | June 6, 2009

  8. I was talking about the actual crazy girlfriend, the brunette who attempts suicide.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 6, 2009

  9. I confess that, until yesterday, I misunderstood a fundamental concept fairly central to my field of study, but that it turns out that I managed not to reveal my misunderstanding in the paper that has already been accepted and posted online at the journal’s website. (Confession was delayed during a day of not daring to look at the paper.)

    Comment by hugh | June 6, 2009

  10. I hope you like Özpetek, after years of being a snob about films and such, I grew tired of the whole thing, but Özpetek really reminded me why I loved movies to begin with, I also recently watched Harem Suaré by him as well…

    Comment by Mikhail Emelianov | June 7, 2009

  11. I apologize, Adam. Especially since I’m pretty sure that my skipping the mandatory informational video violated the confessional’s EULA.

    Comment by Ray Davis | June 8, 2009

  12. The clip wouldn’t have clarified — it’s a completely unrelated scene.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 8, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

