The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Not at the table, Carlos!

I confess that I currently own neither a tea-kettle nor a vegetable steamer (one of the kinds you put in the pot, not a separate appliance, though I also don’t have the appliance version).

I confess that the past few weeks have been characterized by a seemingly insatiable desire to eat Chinese food.

I confess that I am a defensive person, but I’m getting much better at moving beyond my initial gut reaction in situations where defensiveness arises.

I confess that I don’t know how I managed to keep my house clean before I had long-term writing projects to procrastinate on. I confess that I have begun playing online chess with Richard again, despite knowing that last time we were in that habit, it became an all-consuming addiction. I confess that I still feel mildly pathetic for my all-consuming addiction to online Risk a year or so ago.

I confess that I feel a strange kind of pride for having endured this long in the grim war of blogging attrition — six years on July 1 (nice to start on an easy date to remember). I confess that sometimes it seems weird to me that virtually everyone who is a big-name blogger simply on the strength of their blogging, rather than being a real journalist or celebrity who started blogging once it was cool, got their start pretty close to the time that I did and that sometimes it feels like I got left behind. Why does it matter, though? What am I hoping this will grow into? A supplemental income? A way into journalism or something? What good would higher numbers and a greater number of citations by other bloggers (i.e., greater than the zero I usually get) do me?

Maybe I’m just a little kid who wants attention — even though my most avid followers to date have tended to be people who inexplicably hate me with a passion. It creeps me out that a certain unnamed individual, who has given up here (due to WordPress’s wonderful comment moderation system) and decided to infest Unfogged instead, will reliably go on a tirade within seconds of me commenting over there. Actually, it doesn’t creep me out anymore: it seems like a simple brute fact.

June 12, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

26 Comments

  1. I confess that I have eaten far too much Post Selects Great Grains Crunchy Pecans cereal in the last hour and a half.

    I confess that I am a piss-poor correspondent. I confess that I am putting off one email due to plain ol’ laziness, and another email due to having settled on avoidance as my principal technique for dealing with its recipient.

    Comment by transportinburma | June 12, 2009

  2. I confess that instead of working on my pilot script today, I composed a comic tribute song to be sung to a public official.

    I confess that if writing for television doesn’t pan out, and something else remunerative does, I wouldn’t feel tragically useless in life if I were simply known to those around me as someone who could put together a comic tribute song once in a while.

    I confess to owning three ukuleles.

    Comment by Wrongshore | June 12, 2009

  3. I confess I would be disappointed if Adam shut up shop, and hereby register my thanks for the last 6 years.

    I confess to thinking the future of defunct blogs may indeed be in the form of slim, memoirish books or ebooks that explore the blogger’s relationship with their main subject of interest. Then we can still read them in 10 years’ time.

    Comment by Gabe | June 12, 2009

  4. I confess that I was surprised by how quickly I and my fellow 1999 non-techie-bloggers became eclipsed by the massive post-2001 influx. I confess that my surprise didn’t last long.

    I confess to egocentric distress over the likelihood that I won’t have a new post up before my site’s tenth anniversary (celebrated, by convention, “somewhere around July 4”).

    I confess I thought I had hay fever but instead had a cold.

    Comment by Ray Davis | June 12, 2009

  5. I confess that I make the same misdiagnosis reported by Ray every couple years, and when I do, the cold in question usually knocks me out for a couple days.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 12, 2009

  6. Adam K, is The Homepage content archived somewhere?

    Comment by Adam R | June 12, 2009

  7. And it seems like you could tack that onto the 6 years you’ve been blogging. It should count.

    Comment by Adam R | June 12, 2009

  8. I confess that the subject of defunct and dying blogs kind of depresses me.

    I confess that I have no idea how I’d manage without a tea kettle. I went off coffee a year ago after reaching the point where I was drinking way too much coffee, and then switched to tea because I still needed some kind of hot caffeinated beverage, and now drink way too much tea.

    Comment by stras jones | June 12, 2009

  9. I might have the Homepage content backed up somewhere, but I didn’t make a concerted effort to do so. I’m not sure how many years that would add on — maybe up to five? Man.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 12, 2009

  10. i confess i’m relieved to learn that our super saw the neighbour yesterday, i couldn’t sleep until 2am yesterday for example because of the irrational fear of the corpse perhaps lying behind the wall and the meatloaf eaten at the lunch, won’t take that dish again, never
    but quietness is a good thing, though i’m the noisier one what with all my music listening, the volume is not loud of course, just like the radio background
    perhaps i need to listen at home through the headphones too out of consideration for the neighbours

    Comment by read | June 12, 2009

  11. I confess to just noticing that the clothes I am wearing are inside-out. If only they were on backwards, too.

    I confess that I didn’t understand at least 80% of the dialogue in last night’s premier of “Law & Order: UK” (or whatever it is called). I confess to fearing that I will be attacked for saying this as I was when I said that I didn’t understand a single thing that was going on in the original “Office” or in that zombie movie made by those two goes who later did the cop movie where the person is smashed to death by a falling piece of church. I confess to preferring Apollo’s space-American accent to his actual accent, if only because I could understand what he was saying.

    Comment by Craig | June 12, 2009

  12. I confess to succumbing to a nasty chest cold this week, which appears to have been the result of overindulging in my many vices. I confess, this is why I did not post Wednesday Food.

    I confess to using my tea kettle strictly to heat water for french press coffee. I confess to using my french press only because I’ve been too lazy to buy filters.

    Comment by ebolden | June 12, 2009

  13. i confess i have a blog personal diary like which i update perhaps once a month or two-three months, which i started around march 2006, so it’s interesting how i forget things when i reread it sometimes, a very detached like experience as if i’m reading someone else’s diary, or recall what i was thinking at the time of the post so i was shocked the other day to learn that somebody reads it and left a message
    so i think all those ‘dying’ blogs are not that highly aspiring ventures, but just like regular old fashioned diaries, just instead of notebooks and pens, it’s pcs now

    Comment by read | June 12, 2009

  14. I confess that Adam’s is one of the first blogs I followed, back when I started reading blogs in 2004. I confess that it horrifies me sometimes to think of all the time I’ve spent in front of my computer, reading blogs. Fortunately, much of this time was expended at work.

    Comment by jms | June 12, 2009

  15. I confess that I followed Bitch PhD’s imperative to read Adam’s blog.

    Comment by Wrongshore | June 12, 2009

  16. I confess that read should not tease us with mention of her personal blog to which she does not provide a link.

    Comment by jms | June 12, 2009

  17. I confess that I lie to people about being busy when I’m just being antisocial to avoid the inevitable SMS pleading war. I confess that I feel morally superior for taking no for no if I ask someone to come out somewhere, and feel that this outweighs the notional immorality of lying to people who take no for “try harder”.

    I confess that I want to strangle people who give you unsolicited relationship advice when you’re not having any relationship problems, and I confess that I usually attribute this to them being bitter because of their own relationship status. I confess that I so addicted to following the soap opera of a friend’s lovelife that sometimes my desire for new plot twists outweighs my sense of friendly compassion. Actually frequently.

    I confess that I get disproportionately (though not at all irrationally) wound up about irresponsible copyediting when it pertains to footnotes bearing references I desperately need.

    I confess that all of my so-called positions on the social constructedness of beauty completely collapse when someone who smells noxious sits down next to at the library and I want to forcibly spray them with disinfectant. I confess that I memorised the article in the constitution of the Archives nationales de France which dictates that anyone exhibiting antisocial smell or behaviour may be asked to leave, just in case I need to cite it should I decide to do something more than grumble in quiet. I confess I will never do more than grumble in quiet. I confess I sometimes smell noxious.

    Comment by RobDP | June 12, 2009

  18. sorry, jms, but it’s in my language and mixed, it starts in Mongolian, the sentence, and ends with Russian or English, some Japanese in romaji for example, so like a madman’s diary, my sisters can get it perhaps, and a handful of my friends, but they don’t know and read it, though nothing supersecret is in there and this mixing i hate, very undisciplined, if i try i could write in one of the languages only, but perhaps with myself i can be like free and write whatever without any restrictions
    about smelling noxious, my theory is bodysoaps are specifically designed to smell on the skin after sometime, a day or half because after oxidation etc, especially if they have some kind of fragrance, so have to take a shower everyday, i try to buy the ones with the least possible smell, a cucumber or aloe kind or rub the skin without soaping to remove the dead cells and don’t smell afterwards much more longer to skip a day
    depends also on external temperatures, if a cold day, can skip, but not on the hot days

    Comment by read | June 12, 2009

  19. it’s in my language and mixed, it starts in Mongolian, the sentence, and ends with Russian or English, some Japanese in romaji for example

    You don’t have to send us a link, but would you please set it to music and post that?

    Comment by Wrongshore | June 12, 2009

  20. I second Wrongshore’s suggestion. Or, you could run it through xtranormal!

    Comment by jms | June 12, 2009

  21. I confess that I have seem to work in one-week spurts separated by one-month lazefests during which I feel disgusted with myself. I confess that many articles on my “topic” I’ve read recently seem shockingly bad, but I confess further that I don’t trust myself to make these judgments. I confess that it’s nearly 2pm and I’m just now starting to be something like productive (commenting on a blog—but I also made some changes to the layout of my subversion repository).

    Comment by ben | June 12, 2009

  22. I confess that Kalamata olives are yummy.

    Comment by transportinburma | June 12, 2009

  23. “Why does it matter, though? What am I hoping this will grow into?”

    Pussy, probably.

    Comment by burritoboy | June 12, 2009

  24. As if Adam would have kept at it for six years if it hadn’t already grown into that.

    Comment by ben | June 12, 2009

  25. I confess that I followed Bitch PhD’s imperative to read Adam’s blog.

    I confess that this warms the cockles of my little heart.

    Comment by bitchphd | June 12, 2009

  26. I confess that I got sick an hour into the second day of my new job. I confess that the diagnosis was officially deemed by me “sickness” (versus simply “gas”) when I found myself dry-heaving loud enough to cause considerable concern throughout the office. I confess that I’m not unsure I’ll be asked back on Monday for a third day.

    Comment by Brad | June 12, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

