The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Shelf life

There is still a certain amount of food in my apartment that was purchased by my former roommate (Mike) but that he did not want to bother taking with him. I discovered one such item today while idly looking through the fridge: a tub of sour cream with a sell-by date of August 19, 2006.

Naturally, I e-mailed to notify Mike of my find, and he pointed out that we were still living in our previous apartment on that date — meaning that by the time it arrived here, it was already about nine months past due.

June 24, 2009 - Posted by | boredom

12 Comments

  1. I think BitchPhD just did a post on the advisability of culling your belongings before you move, rather than taking all your stuff with you and waiting till after. But she was scolding herself for moving boxes of unsorted papers, which seems a more understandable failing than moving tubs of expired sour cream.

    Comment by jms | June 24, 2009

  2. Man, that is ripe for a good passive aggressive e-mail. Hell, box that sucker up and send it to your old roommate anonymously…

    Comment by Colin | June 24, 2009

  3. lol

    Comment by Currence | June 24, 2009

  4. D’you know, I specifically texted Adam about that sorting papers/moving thing before I posted it, but I said (at the time) that it seemed to me HIGHLY unlikely that Adam would ever have boxes of unsorted papers in his life.

    And yet. I was so wrong.

    (And it doesn’t matter if you do it before or after the move–realistically, it’s more likely to happen after–as long as you do it.)

    Comment by bitchphd | June 24, 2009

  5. What a blow to your online image!

    Comment by old | June 24, 2009

  6. Is it not relevant that it didn’t belong to me?

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 25, 2009

  7. Relevant, sure, but jumping the track on the move? That sounds like the kind of thing us messy mortals might avoid.

    Comment by old | June 25, 2009

  8. In my defense, the ancient tub of sour cream in question wasn’t even opened–and it’s far from clear whether it’s even mine. It’s not outside the realm of possibility that Adam had a hankering for a baked potato sometime in June 2006.

    Comment by Michael Schaefer | June 25, 2009

  9. How much do we need to raise to get you to taste the sour cream? What about to eat the whole tub?

    Comment by Wrongshore | June 25, 2009

  10. Mike,

    I’ve been keeping detailed records of all my grocery purchases since the summer of 2002, so I’m pretty sure it was yours.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 25, 2009

  11. “for tax purposes,” I assume?

    Comment by Michael Schaefer | June 25, 2009

  12. Okay, fine, it might have been mine. The possibility that occurs to me is that I thought I might make some tacos and then never wound up doing it. It’s hard for me to remember exactly what cooking choices I was considering three years ago.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 25, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

