The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Bad Personhood

I confess that I am not very good at pub trivia.

I confess that I have benefited personally from the stolen election in Iran. Anthony has reposted two articles on AUFS that have circulated widely on various blogs, one of which was linked by Andrew Sullivan and the other of which appears to have become a Twitter sensation. Especially in the former case, it is unclear to me why our particular copy was chosen for the link, but the end result is that AUFS has had its two highest-traffic days within the last week. I don’t expect many readers to stay for our peculiar mixture of theology and continental philosophy, however.

I confess that I am afraid of being bored.

June 26, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

13 Comments

  1. Getting bored is probably inevitable. Staying bored is not.

    I confess not to boredom but to office burnout after just one day of work.

    Comment by Rachel | June 26, 2009

  2. Well I will definitely return to AUFS for that mixture. Actually came across AUFS from Je est un autre that I found googling deleuze+theology. But reading the iranian election posts got me reading a lot of other posts at AUFS. It’s a great blog.

    Comment by Karl Högberg | June 26, 2009

  3. The missing link is me. I read this blog and AUFS compulsively (former Nottingham postgrad), along with Sullivan’s blog. It seemed up his alley. Hope you didn’t mind the extra traffic!

    Comment by Grant | June 26, 2009

  4. I confess that I don’t know how to follow blog traffic on wordpress (or many other places now that sitemeter no longer seems to be favored). Is it only possible for blog administrators to do so?

    Comment by old | June 26, 2009

  5. I confess to deeply mixed feelings on Iran. On the one hand, I think it’d be awesome if a bunch of earnest activist kids overthrew a brutal theocracy. On the other hand, I think Mirhossein Mousavi is incredibly unlikely to represent any kind of genuine reform given his record. On the third tentacle, I can’t help but think that the rush to consensus in the West to immediately brand this as a stolen/rigged election has obscured the very real support for Ahmadinejad and Khamenei and the still-rather-limited nature of the protests, suggesting that any prolonged conflict in Iran would lead not to a revolution but a civil war. On the fourth, I can’t help but notice that those pundits and politicians who have been most vocal in proclaiming their support for the people of Iran were also the ones most loudly clamoring to bomb them last year, and that the likely failure of protests will inevitably be used as a rhetorical bludgeon to goad the administration into war.

    Comment by stras jones | June 26, 2009

  6. Grant, That explains it. I don’t mind the extra traffic at all.

    Karl, Thanks for the kind words on AUFS.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 26, 2009

  7. I confess that I defended my thesis earlier this week, and that things went quite well. For much of the past 12 hours, I confess I’ve been in a bit of a panic because I forgot to apply for graduation on time, and thought I’d really gotten myself into a mess. I confess that I’m relieved to find out that this is not a big deal, however. I will have to pay a late fee, which seems like an appropriate form of punishment for my complete absent-mindedness on this issue – but at least I still get to graduate, and move onto three, or four, more years of having too much fun in grad school.

    Comment by Chris | June 26, 2009

  8. I confess that I feel a little sad that the Zizek article Anthony cross-posted to AUFS is now the most-read post on the site by a long shot.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | June 26, 2009

  9. I haven’t read it, Adam. I won’t, either, in case it makes you feel any better.

    Comment by jms | June 26, 2009

  10. I confess that I only recently found out that I had been ignorant of the meaning of the word “heteronomous”. I confess that “heteronomous” is the kind of word that makes you think you know what it means even though you don’t.

    Comment by hugh | June 26, 2009

  11. i confess i watched wall-e and find him very me, working hard meaninglessly collecting trifles smuggling self to the e-world and i found his rising from the dead is like a bit for the kids, perhaps wanted it to end more catharsis like and i cried a bit but not totally
    also i watched the dinner game and concluded that theirs is a strange world where women can’t be left alone, a total commodity, though it was sometimes funny

    Comment by read | June 28, 2009

  12. i confess i came back to see whether i wrote a woman or the woman and was to correct self and there it is women
    surprising mistake avoidance

    Comment by read | June 28, 2009

  13. so, i confess the proper way to pulverize things is to place the substance needing pulverization between the folds of the paper and run the wooden stick? for making the noodles, don’t know how it is called in english, we call it elduur, over the folded paper, if not run then just beat over it, the paper should be thick and durable, not tearing
    i confess i hate that a number of good people seem left their e-home places because of me, so sorry, i feel like i disturbed some delicate balance of the universe

    Comment by read | June 28, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

