The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred (s.v. Weekly Features)

I hate when I strip my bed and take my bedclothes with me down to the basement, intending to do such lascivious things with them as launder and dry them, and discover that the landlord has put up a notice requesting his tenants not to launder or dry anything until after six p.m.—and I’ve already made plans for that night!

I hate that I complained on facebook about Mr Foster Wallace’s use of “q.v.” and “sub”, and then was “called out” (dubiously; according to the NY Times’ standards I was wrong, but the OED supports me in email) for having used “aggravate” incorrectly.

I hate being a person who’s seen a movie before, watching with people who haven’t, if those people constantly subject me to questions as to who that is, what is the significance of that, etc., when generally ignorance of these matters is the result either of not having paid attention, or the paucity of information yet available to the viewer. I hate people who hold loud, oblivious conversations in the immediate vicinity of movie-watchers.

I hate dust. Unfortunately, I also hate dusting. I hate that I seem to be unable to clean copper in such a way as to prevent its requiring cleaning again shortly thereafter. I hate getting a snootful of acetic acid. I hate waking up feeling ready to go to bed again. I hate it when smoke gets in my eyes, or on my glasses. I hate it when shoelaces break, a hatred in which which I suspect I have more occasion to indulge than do many, because of my habit of lacing tight. I hate watching people with bad knife skills use bad knives (or even good knives). It really makes me antsy.

July 7, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

14 Comments

  1. wow, i’m the most frequent commenter on the site, well, bear with me
    eeh, so i hate my apartment it’s like sauna something at the moment and i hated it so much that i finally brought the ac out from its box and placed it on the window
    i hate i have sinusitis perhaps, b/c runny nose with pain associates with that ds for me, if just congestion i would say common cold, hate having colds in the summer, i blame buses, they are cold and people ridden
    i hate i can’t use forvo, but i can use the voice memo kinou of the phone, though it takes all the space, speed and battery that i missed three phone calls from my friends the other day
    so now if requested i can send the sound clips

    Comment by read | July 7, 2009

  2. The,
    I read the post again and deduced that Bw is dating now, that’s a great development
    coz young people should try and fail and try, that’s what young ages are for
    I hate either the whole areas of Newark are not covered or the phone got so very slow to browse the net or there will be double posting

    Comment by Read | July 7, 2009

  3. I hate that the Illinois legislature won’t just fucking increase taxes to balance the budget. State taxes are trivial compared to federal taxes. Maybe taxes are bad for the economy, but cutting all these state services will directly put people out of work and take money out of the pockets of people who will spend it immediately. I say Governor Quinn should just suspend the state constitution, imprison the legislature, and move forward with the modest tax increases.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 7, 2009

  4. I hate that I let slide the purchase of plane tickets because I had a round-trip voucher, and then as the trip approached I discovered that the vouchers had to be used 14 days out from the flight. I hate that $409 was the rock bottom LAX-ORD fare, and requires staying an extra full day.

    Comment by Wrongshore | July 7, 2009

  5. “I say Governor Quinn should just suspend the state constitution, imprison the legislature, and move forward with the modest tax increases.”

    Hey, I’m the resident blog royalist (every blog must have one) and while I support this plan, I would suggest that King Quinn take up his crown with more vigor – i.e., he would be well-advised to kill a few of the mouthier legislators and redistribute their properties to his supporters. It would be even better if Quinn took some of the more loudmouth opponents, accuse them of some ludicrous crime (spitting in Abraham Lincoln’s house or something), subject them to the rack, force them to give up names of fellow “conspirators” and THEN execute them.

    Hopefully, the new King of Illinois will relocate the capital from it’s current Dungsville to somewhere more fitting to his royal dignity. Like Winnetka.

    see Machiavelli’s Life of Castruccio Castracani

    Comment by burritoboy | July 7, 2009

  6. I hate that Adam is putting the TV feature on hiatus. I also hate writing revisions.

    Comment by Craig | July 7, 2009

  7. I like that I learned “s.v” from this thread, and that my efforts to define it led to a better understanding of q.v.

    I’m no good at this, I know.

    Comment by Wrongshore | July 7, 2009

  8. tv, i switched now to the antiques roadshow, great to learn family stories and about old things
    also on sunday i watched pbs american masters series about John Ford and John Waine, so interesting, should watch their movies perhaps but it’s like hundreds of them, so i’m afraid i won’t have enough patience to watch old movies
    Rififi i liked, next will come Magnolia, again french women in those movies are so totally kept, it’s like as if their purpose of life is to be kept and ornate men’s lives
    well, old times, now it’s history perhaps

    Comment by read | July 7, 2009

  9. I’m not dating anyone (osomething I hate).

    Comment by ben | July 7, 2009

  10. laundry+movie+knife skills watching=dating in my psychology books, but i shouldn’t speculate about people’s lives so freely, i know, i’m sorry
    especially if i’m not that sharply intuitic as i think and read people oftentimes wrong, though i was right in some other cases

    Comment by read | July 7, 2009

  11. Ah, a common fallacy: laundry, movies, and knife skills are necessary, but not sufficient, for dating.

    Comment by transportinburma | July 7, 2009

  12. People’s clothes generally get dirty no matter what else is happening in their lives. Even bedclothes are subject to this inexorable law.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 7, 2009

  13. I hate having my path obstructed.

    There is a staircase that I climb at the beginning and end of my work days. It is a short, yet important, staircase. I would have to take another short, pointless if you’re not handicapped, elevator ride if I wanted to avoid this staircase. It’s 3 short flights, maybe 25 steps in total. So let’s say you wanted to have a conversation with someone. Is there any reason you would stop in the middle of this staircase to engage in idle chit-chat? Any reason other than your being an inconsiderate boob, that is? Just walk the ~10 steps in either direction and you’ll be back on flat ground! Not only will you then be out of my way, but you’ll probably be more comfortable, too! Perfectly sensible, right?

    Well, apparently this good sense eludes some of the boobs with whom I must share this chokepoint of building navigation. I hate this.

    Comment by transportinburma | July 7, 2009

  14. I concur with transportinburma regarding path obstruction.

    While it is true that even bedclothes get dirty, it is not insignificant that this is the first time mine have been laundered in a shamefully long period.

    The knife skills observation and the movie-watching incident concerned entirely different persons (myself excluded).

    Comment by ben | July 8, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

