The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Bonus Surprise Spoiler Alert Thursday: Mad Men nostalgia

I’ve been rewatching the first season of Mad Men since it’s on demand, and you know that whole thing with Peggy where it seems really improbable and crazy? I think it makes sense now. She sleeps with Pete on her first day of work, which is also the first day she starts on the pill. You and I both know that it doesn’t work perfectly like that, but the only thing the doctor wants to discuss with her is how she shouldn’t “abuse” it and become a total whore — something that probably gives her even more of the impression that it’s totally bullet-proof, if anything. Throw in the fact that she’s Catholic, and you have a perfect recipe for contraceptive ignorance. There’s still a denial issue, but it’s not completely crazy, like it would be when you’re watching the season for the first time and had forgotten the details of the first episode. In any case, that’s what I think now.

July 16, 2009 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

4 Comments

  1. To say the least, the finale of “Canada’s Next Top Model,” not to mention the season (err.. cycle) as a whole, was pretty shitty. Despite one of the girls apparently being native and from the reserve, the only trait that distinguished them was that one had dark hair (“the dark haired indian”) and one had blond hair (“the fair lady of the prairies” – assuming Winnipeg counts).

    I’m glad that “True Blood” is back, even if not much significant happened in the last episode – aside from Eric abandoning his tracksuits, which is absolutely unacceptable. In case I haven’t said it yet, I prefer Frank Sabotka on this show more than I did on “The Wire.

    Speaking of which, finally finished the fourth season. I was very saddened to see Bodie get gunned down and I’m glad Wee-bey made the right decision: Namond’s mother was a complete fucking nut.

    Comment by Craig | July 16, 2009

  2. Oh, and “New Jimmy” is the worst thing in the world.

    Comment by Craig | July 16, 2009

  3. I’m a latecomer to Mad Men, but so far (I’m two episodes into the second season) it’s so well-crafted that I’m willing to give it the benefit of the doubt when it hits an occasional off-key note. The unnoticed pregnancy subplot was implausible, but the writers and actors handled it so gracefully that it never teetered into ridiculousness, although it added to the sense that Peggy, more than any of the characters (even Don), is unreadably opaque.

    Season 2 so far hasn’t been quite up to the quality of season 1, but I’m giving it a chance to hit its stride again. I don’t like the “times they are a changin” theme they’ve started off with, although the incremental racial integration of the show has led to the unsurprising disclosure that the lovely Joan Holloway is a racist, which was interesting to me only because it prompted me to make an internal inventory and come to the revelation that, fine, I can still love a racist.

    Comment by jms | July 16, 2009

  4. I hope they do the second season on demand, too, or I guess I could get it from Netflix, because it really didn’t hang together for me the first time through — but I suspect they might be “playing the long game” since they knew they had an additional season.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 16, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

