The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: bare particular country

I hate that the basement in which I formerly was able to store my bicycle and to do laundry (in machines, no less) will in a few short days become inaccessible for both mentioned activities, so that I will have to bring my bicycle up the stairs to the house and then up the stairs to my room whenever I return on my bicycle, and down the stairs to the door and then down the stairs to the street whenever I depart with my bicycle. I will also have to both pay for and use the services of the laundromat down the street if I wish to launder my clothes, something I periodically find myself wanting to do. I hate that the laundromat identifies itself as a “laundramat” and is probably not frequented by the likes of Felicia Day.

I have not had to pay for laundry in over two years, and have not had to leave the building in which I myself am housed to do laundry in living memory. No doubt there is all sorts of “etiquette” with which I am unfamiliar. I bet, for instance, that if the washing machines load from the top, it is considered “bad form” to let the load become unbalanced so that the machine seems to come to life, as if trying to shake free of invisible shackles or quaking with religious or wrathful transports or the like. That happened to me recently, by the way—I mean an unbalanced load; I neither shook nor quook. I hate it when that happens, especially because generally all my attempts to rebalance things are bootless. What a world.

I hate the ending—let’s say the last 150 pages—of Infinite Jest.

I hate the continuing and to me mysterious failures of the unfoggedbot. I hate airy, light ice cream. I want density, dammit!

July 28, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

21 Comments

  1. One can get used to things, perhaps one day you’ll miss your bike if it’s not in the room, but sorry to hear about the landramat, very funny
    I would have hated If I gave an impression that washing by the river banks was that, the epitome of poverty, on the contrary if I ever experienced any fully that, existential joy or something it was there, reading a book while waiting for the laundered items to dry up, so clean and smelling the sun, wind, grass, the sounds of the river rattling, a lot of minus ions
    perhaps I’ll post a picture if I’ll find any resembling
    I hate to work with paraformaldehyde, developed sensitivity to it that everything itches after its use and I hated to find two bottles of ibuprofen when I thought one of them should be benadryl

    Comment by Read | July 28, 2009

  2. I hate that I’m going to have to use a laundromat in Kalamazoo. I hate that there seems to be some cosmic force pushing me toward cities with strange names beginning with K.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 28, 2009

  3. uff, i was afraid i killed all the hatreds with joy and mistakes
    so, at least, what i could find, the impression and ‘ll with ^have

    Comment by read | July 28, 2009

  4. I hate being bitten by insects.

    Comment by ben | July 28, 2009

  5. I hate that I was checkmated this morning when I thought were both still doing the opening.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 28, 2009

  6. Ben,

    If you’re anywhere near Launderland on Divisadero, I’d recommend doing your laundry there. The place is big enough and busy enough, that such lapses in “etiquette” ought to be easily absorbed.

    Comment by marcegoodman | July 28, 2009

  7. I hate airy, light ice cream. I want density, dammit!

    Bless you! I despise ice cream that verges on soft-serve lightness. If I can’t use a fork, it’s just not hard enough.

    I hate that there is no ‘n’ in dammit. Visually, it lacks gravitas.

    Comment by ebolden | July 28, 2009

  8. I hate that I’m having trouble getting going on this last chapter. I also hate how hot and humid it has become. I also hate 50% of the stars of “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2,” which I watched last night because it was about to be removed from on demand. I hate that only watch movies when they are about to be deleted from on demand.

    Comment by Craig | July 28, 2009

  9. Of course, Launderland is not really “on” Divisadero, but rather just “off” between Oak and Fell.

    Comment by marcegoodman | July 28, 2009

  10. Launderland is reasonably close to me and much higher-rated, on Yelp, than the place down the street.

    Comment by ben wolfson | July 28, 2009

  11. I hate it when I forget to log in to wordpress.

    Comment by ben | July 28, 2009

  12. I hate the basement situation on your behalf. That sucks.

    I hate my sloth. I hate that my husband is using the car all this week. I hate that I’m a bad niece. I hate that I only planted four tomato plants this year. I hate that I have to do the dishes.

    Comment by bitchphd | July 28, 2009

  13. I hate that bitchphd’s hate reminded me that I have to do the dishes. I hate washing pots and pans. I especially hate washing the pot that contained the spaghetti sauce as it discolors the whole sink of water.

    Comment by Jon | July 28, 2009

  14. Fuck, I hate that reading this on a break from indexing reminded me that I have to do dishes. I hate washing the stuff used to bake (though delicious vegan cupcakes were the result and the least I can do is wash up afterwards… so goes the mantra).

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | July 29, 2009

  15. I hate what a chickenshit Jon Stewart’s turned into.

    Comment by stras | July 29, 2009

  16. I hate the inevitable realization that it’s going to be hard to break into Hollywood. The realization hasn’t happened yet, but when it does, it’s going to really burn the beans out of my optimistic disposition.

    Comment by Wrongshore | July 29, 2009

  17. Just wing it, Wrongshore.

    Comment by ben | July 29, 2009

  18. my acquaintance’s son studied movies or how it is called, something art, not performance, film noir iirc was his dissertation and i was thinking how so lucky people study such fun things, perhaps lots of good karma
    though if due to the excess of enjoyment they’ll end up anhedonic, i don’t wish that for him, sure
    i hate the phone’s earbuds are not working properly, only the right one is working and it feels weird, this was gradual, once i noticed the left one is producing only the drum sounds and the right one the rest of the song, i’m not sure maybe i did something wrong with the sound adjustments
    the battery yesterday shut off very hatefully during the bus trip when i was listening online, i’m looking forward to upgrade it next month, they say i’m eligible hopefully with the full discount

    Comment by read | July 29, 2009

  19. I hate that there were no walnuts for sale at the campus farmers market today. They usually go for $6/lb, which is a pretty good price, especially given the freshness of these walnuts. I was at Safeway on Monday night and they were selling a no doubt hatefully inferior product for $9/lb, IIRC. I hate how overpriced some products at the Ferry Plaza Farmers Market are. In particular, I hate that walnuts cost > $10/lb there. Fuck that. Perhaps someone the neighborhood farmers market will have walnuts this weekend. There is usually a vendor there who sells walnuts at a reasonable price, although I don’t know if it’s quite $6/lb reasonable.

    Further, I hate that some dickface apparently picked up the TransLink card that I lost and used it to ride Muni—twice. Did they think I was going to leave the autoload active, hence allowing them to put their transit usage on my credit card indefinitely?

    Comment by transportinburma | July 29, 2009

  20. but i could listen to most of BW’s show, only the last 20 or so min the battery had died, liked the folk songs
    the other day i was listening to the atonal one and it coincided with me being at the train station, so all the sounds of the station got like collided with it and i kinda understood why people like to listen to that music, pretty natural sounds i thought and once one’s ear gets accustomed to amelodic music it’s pretty difficult perhaps to listen to other music
    he likes Indian or Middle Eastern music i guess, i’d love if any songs from the mp3 compilations i sent to BW and other U/ders could be broadcasted, sure, if it’s not too much dissonance to his programs, coz they are all pretty melodical songs, thanks
    (well, let’s see whether this my ‘ambition’d be as futile as expecting the grammar corrections)
    but if it’s impossible, then it’s okay, i understand there are like tying themes and integrity of the show

    Comment by read | July 29, 2009

  21. a song
    one of my favourites, great lyrics
    there was a picture with pine trees a bit resembling what i wanted to describe upthread

    Comment by read | July 30, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

