The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Night sleeping

I confess that I was planning on writing this confession in the morning, but I can’t fall asleep because of various practical worries — above all worries surrounding my so-far failed attempts to find a replacement roommate for my Chicago place, but also more petty things like changing banks, etc.

I confess that sometimes I get into a self-pitying mood where I feel like there is some kind of ontological principle preventing practical things from going smoothly for me, even though I recently just managed to secure an apartment in a distant city without use of a car and experienced essentially no problems whatsoever (other than a frustrating computer error on the online apartment application, stemming from me accidentally typing the date April 31 into one of the slots in the form — apparently the programmers didn’t figure anyone would type in non-existent dates). I confess that my hermit-like lifestyle is probably overly conducive to internal dramas.

I confess that I’m excited for the book event beginning next week at AUFS and weirdly satisfied that so many of the posts will be written and scheduled ahead of time, meaning we can essentially sit back and let the blog run itself.

I confess that I’ve been eating a more balanced diet for about a year now, making a concerted effort to get plenty of fruits and vegetables, and I’m not convinced that it’s actually improved my quality of life at all. I confess that my feeling of confidence in the positive effects of vitamin supplements is much greater, even though I know intellectually that such a position is stupid.

I confess that my habit of eating pasta for dinner seems to have been definitively broken and that I am increasingly eating out almost every night — not necessarily out of a desire to eat out, but out of a desire to avoid eating pasta. I confess that my decision to switch to whole grain pasta, again motivated by health concerns, seems to have brought me to the breaking point in my already strained relationship with pasta, with the net effect being that I’m arguably eating worse than before. I don’t think switching back to partial grain pasta would help at this point, though.

August 14, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

21 Comments

  1. I confess that I’ve had Keeping up with the Kardashians on TV for a good 12 minutes now. In my defense, I’ve only been watching it (where “watching” is defined as “occasionally darting my eyes from the computer screen to the TV”) because I had changed the TV to E! in order to watch Sexiest Miami Jobs, and I just haven’t gotten around to changing the channel yet.

    Comment by transportinburma | August 14, 2009

  2. I confess that my inner editor works too well, or not well enough. Rarely does there come a time when I feel I’ve censored myself just right.

    Comment by jms | August 14, 2009

  3. I confess that if people need more than a pay check for doing jobs they applied for (ie. constant praise from people impressed with their sacrifice in the form of news reports and “oooo aahhh” in public) then they are fucking infants and should work on their emotional maturity.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | August 14, 2009

  4. I confess that, while enjoying a few quiet days in a Big Sur cabin w/ the wife & dog, I mistook the sound of children playing at the cabin closest to us for really enthusiastic sex.

    Comment by Brad Johnson | August 14, 2009

  5. I confess that I slept for eleven hours last night.

    Comment by ben | August 14, 2009

  6. I confess that the recently added Scrabble application on my iGoogle page is killing my productivity.

    Comment by Jon | August 14, 2009

  7. I confess to being rather happy that I successfully defeated the two traffic tickets I was given last week. One was thrown out and the other was reduced to a token fine. All of this without contesting the facts.

    I confess that it is too hot and that there isn’t enough time between now and the fall semester.

    I also confess to wanting to be done my dissertation so I can move on to the next project (which also entails moving universities again – a predominantly French one and I my French is terrible).

    I confess that instead of being at my desk fucking around on the internet, that I should either be doing work or at the shelter. I should also feed the cat “second breakfast.” (He is basically a hobbit that looks like a raccoon but has the DNA of a cat.)

    Comment by Craig | August 14, 2009

  8. I confess that sometime I censor myself just right, and then brag about it.

    I confess that when a friend asked me to stand witness as a potentially angry ex-boyfriend moved his stuff out of her apartment, I mistook another one of her friends who came over, whom I’ve met three or four times, for the ex, whom I’ve only met once. I confess that both men are African-American.

    I confess that my hermit-like lifestyle

    and here I pictured you as a hep cat, swinging by all the picnics with a briefcase in your hand.

    Comment by k-sky | August 14, 2009

  9. I confess, though we disagree wildly on pop culture, I love when Craig talks about the animals he lives with.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | August 14, 2009

  10. Thanks, APS. Another dog named Rupert, a shepherd/bloodhound of about four years, is likely going to stay with us for awhile. I expect him to be a lot of trouble.

    Also, I meant to comment on your AUFS post re: your translation. What you describe is, in my view, the essence of scholarship – spending hours, if not days, tracing an ambiguous phrase or a misleading citation. Keep it up.

    Comment by Craig | August 14, 2009

  11. my already strained relationship with pasta

    I confess this made me laugh out loud.

    Comment by Gabe | August 14, 2009

  12. I confess that whole wheat pasta tastes too much like butthole to catch on.

    Comment by Chad | August 14, 2009

  13. There’s an obvious follow-up question in response to Chad’s comment.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 14, 2009

  14. To wit: how does he account for butthole’s rising popularity?

    Comment by ben | August 15, 2009

  15. I confess a great deal of annoyance regarding the absence of the Thursday television feature – again!

    (1) I have wasted five times forty-eight minutes watching the second season of “Durham County.” Obviously, this is a show that should not have been made in the first and a second season is just madness. I don’t understand how the show is filmed in Cornwall and Montreal, but – based upon the title – seems to take place in Oshawa. Why not just film the fucker in Oshawa, less than an hour outside Toronto? (Once, at a really shitty restaurant in Oshawa at a strip mall, I had the most wonderful delicacy: battered and deep fried pickles. We only went to the restaurant on the basis of its name, something akin to “The Wascally Weasel” or “The Groovy Groundhod.” We were pretty sure that we were the only people in the place who had not worked on an auto assembly line.) I should like to remind the writers that bad writing is not “artistic” and that incoherent plots are not “edgy.” Only one more episode to go.
    (2) “True Blood” ended quite well last week with Jason’s former friend from the Fellowship coming in to the vampire nest wearing explosives and silver. By “ended quite well” I mean that the music director continued to make excellent choices, using Beck’s “Timebomb.”
    (3) Watched movies, although the only one I remember was “Wanted,” which we watched last night. Basically, Common is a douche. The best part of the movie was when Morgan Freeman swore. This led to the question, when they are looking for an old black, male leader of superheroes, how do they decide between Samuel L. Jackson and Morgan Freeman?

    Comment by Craig | August 15, 2009

  16. 14: Because of its healthful properties, particular with respect to maintaining proper colon function.

    Comment by jms | August 15, 2009

  17. Obviously Adam should just give Craig posting permissions and stick him with the Thursday TV post.

    Comment by ben | August 15, 2009

  18. I assume butthole tastes like it often smells…

    Comment by Chad | August 15, 2009

  19. Has anyone ever told you that you’re weirdly fixated on butthole taste/smell, Chad? Perhaps that’s something to talk about with a therapist.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 16, 2009

  20. You have no idea.

    Comment by Chad | August 16, 2009

  21. “my hermit-like lifestyle is probably overly conducive to internal dramas.” Sounds pretty “ontological” to me.

    Comment by Lloyd Mintern | August 18, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

