The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: TMI

I hate it when my balls dangle into the water in the toilet bowl.

I hate that Caltrain is cutting out the 10:37am southbound train, as well as the 11:37, 12:37, and 1:37 southbound trains (though I care less about them), and the corresponding northbound trains (actually I care hardly at all about them), leaving only hourly locals between 10am and 2pm. I hate even more that the signs announcing this informed readers that Caltrain is cutting sit’ss service.

Naturally, I hate that my laptop’s hard drive crapped out and had to be replaced.

I hate my shitty calendrical skills.

August 25, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

34 Comments

  1. I hate contemplating ben’s testicles.

    Comment by transportinburma | August 25, 2009

  2. “It’s”. You know, possessive, like “belongs to it”.

    I hate that mistake and all the misspellings that come from people guessing at the spelling of common terms. These include “prolly” and “could/would/should of”. It seems “prolly” may be intentional sometimes, but I still hate it.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 25, 2009

  3. I hate the term “could care less” and appreciate that I haven’t seen it around here. Someone straighten me out on the word nauseous. I always thought that “I’m feeling nauseous” was incorrect…that you should say “nauseated.” But I hear it used the first way so much on TV, including real shows…like the news…that I occasionally wonder if I’m mistaken.

    Comment by Chad | August 25, 2009

  4. I hate it when my balls dangle into the water in the toilet bowl.

    Does The Weblog have mouseover text?

    Comment by Adam Henne | August 25, 2009

  5. It sounds like Ben shares an affliction with Larry David: long balls.

    I hate the length of time it takes for out of state checks to “clear.” I hate that I’m developing strategies to allow my credit cards to satisfy each other’s needs next month, with no infusion of fresh cash from my bank account. “Cash back rewards” figure heavily into this strategy.

    Chad, I have never heard of the distinction you’re making between “nauseous” and “nauseated.” What would one use “nauseous” for under your system?

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 25, 2009

  6. That big pile of crap is nauseous. It makes me want to puke.

    Comment by Chad | August 25, 2009

  7. To me, it sounds more natural to call the big pile of crap “nauseating” and to say that it’s making me “nauseous.” Perhaps it’s something that varies by region, though.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 25, 2009

  8. “It’s”. You know, possessive, like “belongs to it”.

    The word you are looking for is “its”. Just like every other possessive pronoun, it does not have an apostrophe.

    Compare:

    his/hi’s
    hers/her’s
    theirs/their’s
    yours/your’s
    mine/????

    Comment by ben | August 25, 2009

  9. ben – Sorry, that was supposed to be a parody of somebody trying to explain using that spelling. I’m good on when to use which of “it’s” and “its”.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 25, 2009

  10. I hate that I ever doubted you.

    Comment by ben | August 25, 2009

  11. Chad is bringing up a classic bit of usage fussiness. I’m surprised Adam’s never heard this complaint, actually–I feel like I first came across it as a teenager, perhaps in Strunk & White. Anyway, the sticklers would say that “nauseous” means “causing nausea” and “nauseated” means “feeling like you’re going to puke”, but this distinction is disappearing. See the Usage Note here.

    Comment by transportinburma | August 25, 2009

  12. I see that you actually said “I hate that mistake”. I hate that I didn’t even notice that. ARRGGG

    Comment by ben | August 25, 2009

  13. I think I’ve always been a descriptivist at heart, so I never paid much attention to usage fussiness. It’s never been clear to me why Strunk & White have enjoyed such hegemony.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 25, 2009

  14. I’m with Adam… my intuitive sense of the words suggests that to “nauseate” would be to “induce nausea.” I am actually beginning to feel slightly militant about this actually being the correct usage, in spite of what might be traditional.

    Related question: “counterfactually,” if “nauseated” means “feeling like you’re going to puke,” then what would “nauseate” mean… “the act of becoming nauseated?” Brief consultation of the dictionary indicates that the verb can be either intransitive and transitive, but I would suggest, towards the end of helping English to make more sense, that the intransitive usage is cumbersome and unnecessary. When we mean “feeling like we are going puke,” it seems more direct to use the adjective, nauseous, since it directly describes a state in which we find ourselves. When something is able of inducing nausea, which has a sense of action or potentiality, the verb seems like the more intuitive choice.

    Comment by Hill | August 25, 2009

  15. “nauseate” means, transitively:

    (a) Of a person, the stomach, etc.: to reject (food, etc.) with nausea or a feeling of sickness. Obs.

    (b) fig. To loathe, abhor, feel a strong aversion to (something).

    (c) Of a thing: to affect (a person, the stomach, etc.) with nausea or sickness; (fig.) to create a loathing or aversion in.

    intransitively:

    (a) Of a person, the stomach, etc.: to become affected with nausea, to feel sick (at something). Obs.

    (b) fig. To become disgusted (at something); to feel loathing. Obs.

    (c) To induce nausea or sickness; (fig.) to cause loathing or aversion.

    Comment by ben | August 25, 2009

  16. I seem to recall Ben once using the second transitive meaning in lieu of “to hate” in one of his hatred posts.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 25, 2009

  17. Indeed. Then he made a fuss after we did not use the word similarly in our comments.

    Comment by transportinburma | August 25, 2009

  18. I agree with Hill that the “incorrect” common usage of “nauseous” actually makes more sense than the prissy traditional usage. Yet I can’t really get myself worked up about it.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 25, 2009

  19. Yeah… I think it would be more accurate to suggest that if someone were to engage me in a militant way on the issue, I would respond with commensurate, including potentially deadly, force. I have these sorts of hypothetical conversations with imaginary annoying people all of the time.

    Comment by Hill | August 25, 2009

  20. Hill has identified one of my best-beloved pastimes.

    Comment by ben | August 25, 2009

  21. It is at times constitutive of my interior life. The conversations almost always escalate to a point at which I realize that physical violence would be the only effective means of communicating with my interlocutor.

    Regarding Adam’s CYE allusion… I tracked down the pertinent YouTube clip for those interested:

    Comment by Hill | August 25, 2009

  22. Holy crap it automatically embedded the damn thing right there. My apologies.

    Comment by Hill | August 25, 2009

  23. WordPress is insane like that.

    Comment by ben | August 25, 2009

  24. no apologies necessary.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 25, 2009

  25. mine/????
    easy, my’s
    nauseating/nauseuous could be just plainly vomit-inducing
    we have a saying ‘nyaluunaas shuluun n’ which means something like better to say directly than hint obliquely or literally ‘sweatened yori direct’

    Comment by read | August 25, 2009

  26. I hate that I probably lost my only damn travel coffee mug earlier today. I’ve only just realized that I don’t have it, and I will probably search all over the place tomorrow with no luck. Right now, I’m pretty sure I left it in the student building after checking my mail, in which case it has to be gone.

    The worst part is that its a great mug with a good lid for sipping. It was a gift from the place that I tutor at in Pittsburgh, and if I have no luck tomorrow I will probably go to them with my tail between my legs, explaining that I lost it and asking if it’s possible to “buy” another. Of course, when I do this, I will be hoping that they have compassion on me and just give me another one. I hate that I’m a cheap, but broke, bastard (not basterd).

    Comment by dave | August 26, 2009

  27. I hate being on the same train as hordes of lunkhead Giants fans.

    Comment by ben | August 26, 2009

  28. Free Plaxico.

    Comment by Hill | August 26, 2009

  29. I think he’s probably talking about lunkhead San Francisco Giant fans. So how about, “Lincecum! Cy Young, baby!”

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 26, 2009

  30. I’m with you there!

    Comment by Hill | August 26, 2009

  31. I hate that a check I’m expecting did not arrive today.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 26, 2009

  32. I hate people who put their feet on the dashboard or out the window. I double hate it when they aren’t wearing shoes.

    Comment by Craig | August 26, 2009

  33. I love putting my feet on the dashboard or out the window.

    Comment by bitchphd | August 27, 2009

  34. It seems to be that the “hate” in “when my balls dangle into the water in the toilet bowl” isn’t a pure hate, since it’s got to be mixed with some pride, right?

    Comment by ed bowlinger | August 28, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

