The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Ch-ch-changes

I confess that yesterday The Girlfriend and I did some initial moving, breaking in my Kalamazoo apartment. Two factors converged to make a day trip seem like a good plan: the realty company’s bizarre policy of only allowing people to pick up keys during normal business hours (since no one ever moves on the weekend, of course) and the college’s actual-bone-fide-receipts-requiring moving allowance. I wasn’t going to use the moving money any other way, so why not rent a truck for a round trip? In the end, we moved all my books and a lot of other smaller stuff, got my cable and internet all set up, and did a massive grocery run that should last me for a month if not two.

I confess that I bought her pizza, as tradition demands. My parents are coming down Sunday to finish the job; in the meantime, I get to enjoy a couple more days in my nice, huge apartment that apparently no one in the world wants to move into now. I confess that my Kalamazoo apartment is smaller than I remembered it, but it will be fine.

I confess that I apparently find driving a moving truck in Chicago very stressful. I confess that I made sure to point out to The Girlfriend the building of the Polish Catholic League with a giant fetus painted on the side (the anticlimactic slogan: “Respect life”). I confess that at a certain point in the trip, I cast aspersions on the mysterious “Bishop Ford,” as his namesake freeway was congested beyond all reasonable levels.

I confess that as we drove by the huge fireworks warehouse store along I-94 in Indiana, both The Girlfriend and I had the same thought: what would it look like if someone burned that place down?

I confess that that lame subtitle really is the best I could do — I’m completely exhausted.

September 4, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

14 Comments

  1. I confess that driving a moving truck in Chicago is objectively stressful.

    Comment by adamhenne | September 4, 2009

  2. You could at least wedge the other two chs in there.

    Comment by k-sky | September 4, 2009

  3. I was thinking specifically of the second line of the chorus, prefaced by a two-ch “changes.”

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 4, 2009

  4. Ooh, I like that line. Kind of comes at you sideways like.

    Comment by k-sky | September 4, 2009

  5. I confess that the lame subtitle reminded me of The Brady Bunch.

    I confess that the Right’s complete overreaction to Obama’s school speech is very disturbing and unnerving.

    Comment by Jon | September 4, 2009

  6. I confess that watching the right-wing crackup over the last nine months or so has made me unusually wary about going home for the holidays. My dad has warned me that my mom has become a regular Glenn Beck viewer.

    Comment by stras | September 4, 2009

  7. I confess that I am thrilled to have insulated myself from the right wing crackpots for the most part. I know who Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, Bill O’Reilly and Ann Coulter are but that’s about it. And since I know who they are and the channels where they are mostly likely to appear, I can avoid them.

    I generally only have to be aware of their existence when somebody at work brings up something they said.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 4, 2009

  8. I confess that I accidentally “marked as read” about two dozen blog posts in the politics folder of my RSS reader, and I don’t have any desire to see what they were.

    Comment by k-sky | September 4, 2009

  9. I confess that I just took a 3+ hour nap, even though I only had one class today. I confess that I’m lingering online because I don’t want to do any laundry and the baseball game starts at 7.

    Comment by dave | September 4, 2009

  10. I confess to being annoyed that one of my courses has been over-enrolled without my permission. Thirty-three students is not a seminar. At the same time, I suspect that the over-enrollment is a result not of poor planning (i.e., not offering enough first year seminars), but that students actually want to take a course in animal studies.

    Comment by Craig | September 4, 2009

  11. I like small seminars too, but I would kill if we had thirty-three students like that at my school. I’m one of the few philosophy-ish students on campus; we don’t even have a philosophy major. Next semester is hopefully my last, and a friend and I are trying to drum up enough students to “raise the appropriate amount of hell” in order to get a seminar course offered on religious existentialists like Marcel, Buber, Unamuno. The professor is willing to teach it, but the department is pretty much a service department so that the preprofessional students can get their required dose of general education courses at the times they want (which makes it even more frustrating once you get enough people to raise hell).

    Comment by dave | September 4, 2009

  12. Unfortunately, my contract specifies that I will have fewer students. I suspect that each extra student will result in ten extra hours of work per semester — all unpaid. Sixty hours at thirty-some an hour is a lot of money that I’m not getting.

    Comment by Craig | September 4, 2009

  13. I confess that it’s been a while since my last confession.

    I confess that my preserved lemons are too salty.

    Comment by ben | September 5, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

