The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Impassable Termagant

I hate paying for disgusting barely edibles or potables. $4.33 down the drain just now for a disgusting drink. Hate it. The worst part is that I should have been able to tell in advance, based on the description. But no. I was riding too high to care what trouble I incurred. It would have been all right, too, but ah! what awfulness of flavor!

I hate that the WordPress visual post editor, which I was using for the previous paragraph, hijacks keyboard chords such as, for instance, apple-9, useful in firefox for going to the rightmost tab, and also apple-8, and presumably several others. It’s downright inconsiderate. I never asked to be your mountain, WordPress. Speaking of, you know what would be a useful feature in web browsers? Find/replace for textareas. Why does this not exist? Or … does it?!

I was considering updating my facebook status to read “never reads but he pores”, but that is actually diametrically opposed to the truth. Diametrically! I hate that unless I am reading something for a particular purpose I often have no recall regarding it except in the most vague way, this peculiar fog setting in more or less immediately after the mark is placed and the covers closed. I hate it when I can’t find library books, especially those that have been recalled from me. I have a hunch, at least, but I won’t be able to substantiate it until tomorrow.

I hate that I can’t remember the actual name of the bird that I thought was called “termagant”, which, it turns out, means something quite different. Cormorant? But what if it really does begin with a “t”? This is worse than the time I had to read a dictionary to remember the word “thrall” (which I thought began with an “s”). It seems likely that it’s “cormorant”, but how will I know?

I hate that I just today broke my shift key, in such a way that it is no longer secured to the keyboard, so that if I hit it off-center it comes loose and has to be recentered before it is usable. I hate that I spent a lot of time writing and rewriting something of marginal value that I may end up deleting altogether.

September 8, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

11 Comments

  1. the shift keys are the most brokable, i glued mine back last year, looks uneven, but works
    so it’s already tuesday, i didn’t know that b/c of the jetlag which i hate and won’t sleep until 3-4 am
    i hate when fortunetellers tell negative things, they should tell all things nice and hopeful unless there is like an immediate threat of death or injury if they can predict that
    the one to whom my sister and cousine dragged me to predicted i’ll never get married which is perhaps true and i know it myself and quite like accept, don’t care much etc
    but i hate to be told that
    furthermore she said if i’ll ask gods and spirits often and nicely there could be a fortune of having a female offspring
    and she has a reputation of being mostly accurate, but i’m not sure i like having kids myself, maybe i’ll adopt

    Comment by read | September 8, 2009

  2. I hate that when I read “termagant,” I assumed it was just a misspelling of “ptarmigan,” although I don’t hate that I’ve now discovered what “termagant” means.

    Comment by voyou | September 8, 2009

  3. i hate when my comments get like autobiographical, need to look at self from the side, try to generalize and suppress the talkative impulse

    Comment by read | September 8, 2009

  4. I wholeheartedly agree with the need for search and replace in text areas.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 8, 2009

  5. I hate checking e-mails automatically only 30 seconds after I last checked e-mails.

    I also hate the evasiveness of the word thrall.

    I hate having a bad conscience for disagreeing with popular philsophers (today: Meillassoux).

    Comment by Andy | September 8, 2009

  6. Cormorants are the big black birds that hang out on rocks off the coast.

    I hate it that I have such guilt about turning down a really shitty adjuncting job. I hate it that we’re carrying as much debt as we’ve accumulated, which is the primary reason for my guilt. I hate it that, having just made my quarterly earthquake insurance payment, we have $12 left between us for the next ten days which means I’ll have to COOK EVERY NIGHT!!11! The horror.

    I love it that these are the worst complaints I can currently muster.

    Comment by bitchphd | September 8, 2009

  7. Clack your beaks you termagants and morrigans!

    Comment by ben | September 8, 2009

  8. isn’t it wednesday today, i hate checking the non-updated sites

    Comment by read | September 9, 2009

  9. Shit, maybe it is ptarmigan.

    Comment by ben | September 9, 2009

  10. i hate i was charged $314 for the international roaming when i in fact paid the full 1 mo international roaming package of around $68
    it turns out the package was not valid in my country and after i disputed the bill they removed that fee, but i still have to pay something around 258 for almost nothing
    coz checked the balance fairly early and stopped using the phone, otherwise the bill would have exceeded triple digits
    won’t use iphone kaigai anymore, a bitter lesson

    Comment by read | September 10, 2009

  11. i hate human rights interfere with my blog reading habits

    Comment by read | September 10, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

