The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: eCheck

I confess that my life over the past couple months would’ve been considerably improved if I’d gotten my first paycheck on September 1 rather than October 1. I confess that if it turns out that poverty was the key to my creativity and scholarly productivity, I’m going to be super pissed.

I confess that the first job I applied for this year is the job I am currently filling. I confess that I printed off all my materials using K College’s printers. I confess that having easy access to a fax machine is a much bigger deal than I ever would have thought. I confess that earlier this week I invited a colleague who was clearly just popping into my office to say hi on her way home to “please have a seat,” solely because I wanted to say it. I confess that I have an office.

I confess that I have ordered pizza at a rate considerably higher than I achieved in Chicago — though even the latter was perhaps overly high. In Chicago, I most often went out on weeknights and had trouble finding things to do on the weekends, particularly on Friday. There’s something about a weekend night at home that calls for pizza, in my opinion. If I have to be at home, at least don’t make me cook.

I confess that normally I would’ve gone to get a big burrito from Garcia’s, but they’ve been closed all summer for what looks to be an extremely ambitious remodelling project. I confess that unless I move back to Lincoln Square at some point, I am unlikely ever to eat at Garcia’s again, because its only use was for the occasional “alone and feeling sorry for myself” burrito. To all those in Chicago: if you’re in Lincoln Square and thinking about going to Garcia’s, go to Los Nopales instead! Seriously! It’s the best Mexican restaurant you’ll ever go to, save for the slow service. Ever! I know these things!

I confess that I’ve been ordering from Papa John’s and that my last order took advantage of an online coupon offering two mediums (one specialty and one two-topping, which makes the price that much more impressive/scary) for only $18. Now I don’t have to cook all week! I think I’ll be okay, though, due to the near-compulsory three miles of walking per day. I confess that Sarpino’s is better. I confess that I’m addicted to ordering food online, not least because of the ease of credit-card payment.

I confess that I experimented with doing laundry by hand this week. For socks and underwear, it appears to be a good option. The only problem came from finding enough space to dry everything (I’ve now ordered a drying rack) and subsequently from taking everything down — while removing an undershirt from the top of my closet door (that’s right, I usually wear an undershirt even in summer weather, just to confirm my midwestern cred), I had a bad run-in with the ceiling fan, resulting in an unsightly gash on my thumb and a feeling of deep betrayal. For the rest of the morning, I walked around sheepish and hunched over, like a dog expecting to get hit.

September 18, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

37 Comments

  1. I confess to wanting to boast that I’ve just been to where the Seventh Seal was shot. I confess it looks a lot less bleak in colour with cows and the odd yacht. Nobody was playing chess.

    Comment by Gabe | September 18, 2009

  2. I confess that I did not know there was a difference between Taylor Hicks and Taylor Swift. When I heard about the Kanye thing, I thought, “Why could people be angry at Kanya for doing that to someone (other than Kelly Clarkson) from American Idol?”

    Comment by Craig | September 18, 2009

  3. You realise this enforced walking regimen is going to leave you even more insane when you’re back in Chicago–“well, if the party’s in West Rogers Park, and we’re already at North and Sheffield, we might as well just walk it–with the way the snow’s coming down, the bus’ll take forever to get here anyway.”

    Comment by Michael Schaefer | September 18, 2009

  4. I confess that I wear an undershirt even though I’m not sure why exactly. The kind which is incomprehensibly known as an “A-shirt” and reprehensibly known as a “wifebeater”. I confess that I have several shirts with yellowed armpits that would have been better off if I wore T-shirt undershirts.

    I confess to impressive ring around the collar.

    I confess that I like the way I look in my undershirts alone, even with my gently expanding belly. I confess to adequate shoulders.

    Comment by K-sky | September 18, 2009

  5. I confess that my college roommate posted this video, yesterday’s most viewed video, on YouTube:

    I confess that I feel slightly famous as a result and am posting this to brag (although the video is quite funny).

    Comment by Hill | September 18, 2009

  6. I vote to delete Chad’s comment linking to some race baiting bullshit. While it is slightly more intelligent than a segment of the Glenn Beck show, it is still vile and essentially elevates a stupid douchebag move into a race issue. At the end of the day Kanye was right, both about George W Bush and Beyonce’s video being better (even if he shouldn’t have been a jackass about it).

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | September 18, 2009

  7. Which Beyonce video did he think was better? I never heard that part.

    Comment by Hill | September 18, 2009

  8. I confess I don’t know anything about Taylor Swift or her music.

    Also, I confess that although I have considered myself a Beyonce fan since way back in the days of the first iteration of Destiny’s Child, I haven’t seen the “Single Ladies” video, and I dislike the song. In fact, I find most of the Beyonce hit singles from the past couple of years — “Irresistible,” “Halo,” “Diva,” & c. — nearly unbearable. Why does she insist on writing songs that consistently take her outside her vocal range? She sounds so shrill. Also, she’s a terrible lyricist. I used to excuse her bad songwriting on the grounds that she was a teenager, but now that she’s practically thirty it’s just embarrassing.

    I confess that I don’t watch a lot of music videos anymore, but I think the best ones I saw in the past year were Ne-Yo’s “Miss Independent” and the Kid Cudi one where he hallucinates in the convenience store.

    Comment by jms | September 18, 2009

  9. Single Ladies was the video. It won video of the year which means that, logically, it was also best female video and ergo Kanye was right.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | September 18, 2009

  10. The video is terrific. It expands on this daffy little Bob Fosse number. It’s very spare, the dancing is great, the takes are long and wide so you can see it, and Beyoncé wears a robot claw. I’ve never listened to the song on its own but I could see where it might not be as strong without the video. The whooping, dissonant electronic sounds especially.

    Comment by K-sky | September 18, 2009

  11. Assuming that the process used to determine “Video of the Year” is normative, then indeed, Kanye was right. I find the song mind-shreddingly annoying, so watching the video was something like the Ludovico Technique in my experience, and that is in spite of the fact that I think Beyonce is incredibly good looking.

    Comment by Hill | September 18, 2009

  12. [I confess] I hope the video is as redeeming as K-sky claims, because the message of the song is pathetic. I have never heard a single song of Taylor’s either, although I admire Beyonce’s kindness to Taylor Swift in letting her speak during her winning moment.

    Comment by Rebekah | September 18, 2009

  13. I confess that I have frightened off more than half the students who enrolled in one of the courses I’m teaching. I confess that this was not deliberate, and I feel bad, since this wasn’t what my department had in mind in giving me this course, but I also confess that I noticed today how much more friendly the classroom felt, so I am also a tiny bit glad that the ones who weren’t into it have left.

    Comment by hugh | September 18, 2009

  14. The Sheriff of Nottingham called for the deletion of my comment…pff…

    It’s not race baiting. It’s a significant social issue and it’s interesting.

    “Kanye was right.” Yeah…that’s relevent. For being so smart, you really say some odd and childish things.

    Comment by Chad | September 18, 2009

  15. Any person who writes “MTV is for hip people” cannot and should not be taken seriously. That Chad believes there is anything serious or interesting in his brother’s “column” proves beyond any and all reasonable doubt that any and communication wherein Chad is able to address more than two people (other than himself) at once should be prohibited to him. I second APS’s suggestion that Chad be put up against the wall and fall victim to the good and proper Stalinist measures this blog favours.

    Comment by Craig | September 18, 2009

  16. Chad, saying Kanye was right is mostly a joke (what he said was right, how he said it was not, thinking an opinion like this matters is stupid, and turning it into a race issue is fucking douche bag moronic). Erasing your comment is up there, not the same fort sure, but up there, with discouraging the reading of The Turner Diaries.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | September 19, 2009

  17. That’s a very leggy video.

    Comment by stras | September 19, 2009

  18. You know, Chad, there are other websites with other left-of-center types you can use your barely-passive passive-aggressive act on. I highly recommend unfogged.com, for instance.

    Comment by stras | September 19, 2009

  19. Yeah, the Unfogged folks will be really grateful that you’ve given them an opportunity to feel good about how tolerant and understanding they are of other viewpoints.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 19, 2009

  20. My wife’s water just broke…

    Comment by Chad | September 19, 2009

  21. good luck, Chad, and congrats becoming a father

    Comment by read | September 19, 2009

  22. luck with labor, of course, not seeing you off :) but, sure, in the US’ with the high quality maternal hospital care everything will be okay

    Comment by read | September 19, 2009

  23. Everything was perfect…Micah Drake Jenkins born at 5 pounds, 14 ounces. C-section like his older brother. Thank goodness for the American Healthcare System!

    :)

    That’s right…I made a smiley face…that may have been my first.

    Comment by Chad | September 19, 2009

  24. oh, a serial father you are, congrats again
    i think one’s personal experience shapes what one thinks pretty much, next time perhaps you’ll have a daughter(we wish to a happy parent this wish on this occasion anyway) and it could be you’ll start to care more about for example feminism, wanted to insert a smiley here, but thought it’s like too many of them already to try AK’s patience
    not to troll or imply anything, but i’ve read somewhere that natural birth is like more efficient for inducing deep maternal feelings, the pain plays a role it seems like, so C or blunting of the pain could lead perhaps to that, postpartum depression etc
    not sure how to measure maternal feelings, and the theory could sound reactionary even, hindering the medical advances,
    bleeding causes many adverse postpartum effects for sure, coz hypophysis is the most sensitive to ischemia and strong pain just could result in the more powerful relief sensation and that’s all about that theory, maybe
    well, just musing, and can’t sleep, coffee cuts the later sleep stages, seems it’s true

    Comment by read | September 20, 2009

  25. Yeah…you’d think having a wife and a mother would cause me to care more about feminism. Ah well…too bad the facts indicate that women suck and I’m obligated to hate them.

    The c-sections weren’t planned, by the way…both babies were breech. (in case you thought we were douchey parents)

    Comment by Chad | September 20, 2009

  26. even when i write that, disclaimer like things, people get touchy, my wording perhaps, and c-sections are totally normal medical procedures with its clear indications, just recalled the old reading
    one’s relationship with mother, wife and daughter are really very different, imo, so for your future daughter you would feel like even more concern, perhaps, would try to provide for her the world more safer and just after you, or just wish she’d be able to defend herself in any situation, b/c she’ll be so much more dependent on you before getting fully independent, more than your wife and mother ever have been, they are kinda autonomous beings, however irreplaceable for you, and could be without you fine like hypothetically
    but i don’t know how to measure paternal feelings too, maybe it’s of the same strength, boys or girls, and i always disliked people displaying preference for someone alone among their kids
    i confess i have visitors today, coming from LA through Boston and there’s a town fest going on, pretty loud, should go out to buy some food

    Comment by read | September 20, 2009

  27. Chad, please stop being an asshole.

    Comment by stras | September 20, 2009

  28. I wasn’t being touchy, or an asshole…but I will shut up regardless.

    Comment by Chad | September 20, 2009

  29. no, eh, i shouldn’t spoil your joy, Chad, it’s me being in a talkative mood, talking about births, our customs, feminism, whatnot
    well, i would have commented further but exhausted what i was to say elsewhere and hopefully won’t wake up at 2-3 am in a talkative mood for some days

    Comment by read | September 20, 2009

  30. i have to say that chad’s behavior since the birth of his child seems… peculiar.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 20, 2009

  31. Congratulations, Chad. May all of our children become better people than we were.

    Comment by K-sky | September 20, 2009

  32. I confess that I cannot fathom the mind of someone who feels the need to spend the hours preceding – and following! – the birth of his child harassing random strangers on the internet.

    Comment by stras | September 21, 2009

  33. Sociopath?

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | September 21, 2009

  34. Okay, in the spirit of scientific inquiry I watched both the Taylor Swift video and the Beyonce video this weekend, and I have to admit, the Beyonce video is pretty stellar. And as k-sky hypothesizes, the song is a lot less grating in context of the video.

    Comment by jms | September 21, 2009

  35. i confess to praise robitussin, what made me ignore so long the cough suppressing sputum liquifying meds, the chest feels much much lighter

    Comment by read | September 21, 2009

  36. What about people who harass random strangers on the internet independent of when they last had a child?

    Comment by Hill | September 21, 2009

  37. Also… I’m pretty sure anything would be less grating if I were watching Beyonce gyrate like that at the same time… root canals, kidney stones, etc.

    Comment by Hill | September 21, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

