The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: A wandering troop of sensations

I hate that, for finite beings, no matter how much one has read, there is still more to be read. In a bookstore the other day I saw a display touting Bolaño as an “essential author” (essential to whom, for what? Until quite recently he didn’t even exist!); I found this amusing, since on that store’s heavily-laden shelves were any number of books to catch the interest of anyone. And indeed, there to get one book, I ended up with four, and that’s not counting the little … journal? … about private presses (itself printed on a private press) from earlier in the day. And of course what really prompted this hatred is the endless output of the academy.

I think we’re on the verge of producing some knowledge!

I hate humidity. I hate being drenched with sweat as a result of bicycling home. I hate feeling as if I should be doing something without knowing what (answer: reading or producing a compelling outline or applying for fellowships or the like, probably). I hate it when my emails are not promptly responded to, even though I don’t respond promptly to all emails that come my way. I hate it when authors I admire are misinterpreted in such a way that the misinterpretations come to obscure the real (i.e., discerned by me) points and arguments.

I hate tanned women wearing turqoise jewelry with so-called “arty” sensibilities, and also I hate this guy, for capitalizing “make” and “making”.

I hate that the Buffalo Collision concert was moved from the Independent to CODA, and I hate that CODA seems to be going for the same swank feel that I dislike about Yoshi’s. I just wanna hear some jazzzz, man! Preferably in a large rectangle with some people selling $3 beer bottles out of a cooler at the back. I also hate that the concert was moved without any indication of when the new starting time was. Hint: it wasn’t the old starting time. When I got to CODA (why not just “Coda”?) it was full of bar-industry tools for some kind of bar-industry tool event. Low-quality thump-thump music was being DJed. The group, I learned, would perform, if (?) they performed, in two hours’ time. Having now gone out and returned, I’m not sure I’ll even return, even though I do want to see Berne and Roberts. It’s only the trio lineup anyway! I hate all this shit.

September 22, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

21 Comments

  1. I hate that when I am in possession of a box of granola, I have trouble not eating it all far too quickly.

    I hate that when it is late at night and I am accomplishing nothing (other than the eating of granola), I have trouble convincing myself to sleep.

    Lastly, I will repeat this hatred of ben’s in full, because it is such a clear and concise statement of something I hate:


    I hate it when my emails are not promptly responded to, even though I don’t respond promptly to all emails that come my way.

    Comment by transportinburma | September 22, 2009

  2. I hate that I appear to have an ingrown toenail. I spent much of high school struggling with ingrown toenails on my left foot; now the right has joined the fun. It’s bullshit.

    I hate that I have to teach at 8:30 and still haven’t showered yet.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 22, 2009

  3. I hatingly hate the movie “away we go”, and hate the fact that I felt compelled to read lots of reviews despite having already seen it.

    I hate the fact that the “born in late 60s to early 70s generation” loosely speaking of writers mainly consists of (and the jury is now in on who these people are) people like Eggers (and that writers have become Eggersly in the past ten years it seems).

    Comment by Gabe | September 22, 2009

  4. i hate to leave the traces of my mistemper all over the internets
    i hate my inability to cook even for my guests, such like pathological aversion, i fed them all on the takeouts for two days, pizza, chinese, they spent the full day out in the city, so couldn’t even go out with them to treat them
    a saying describing not a very desired bride to be goes “tsai ch ugui, tsarai ch ugui” means she has “neither tea making abilities, nor the pleasant face”
    a bad impression i left perhaps on my guests

    Comment by read | September 22, 2009

  5. I’ve only toured the Yoshi’s in SF, and it is definitely swank. I don’t get that same feeling at the one in Jack London’s Square. This might be due to standing outside, waiting for the doors to open, and clinging to the building as an Amtrak train zoomed by my face.

    I hate that an inordinate amount of chubby people at my gym seem to think that sit-ups should be their fitness priority.

    I hate that boarding my dog is so expensive.

    Comment by Brad Johnson | September 22, 2009

  6. Regarding ingrown toenails: If you get some flat toenail clippers and resolutely cut them straight across, they will disappear from your life forever. This dramatically improved my quality of life. You may already know this. Now if I could figure out a way to reliably eliminate ingrown hairs from my neck… that would be a break through.

    Comment by Hill | September 22, 2009

  7. I hate the dog boarding industry. I hate that the one time we had to board our dog in a kennel, he came out a stressed out mess who couldn’t poop and wouldn’t eat.

    I hate that putting him in the kennel was the result of trying to send him to a “Doggy Day Care” where he’d at least be able to play with other dogs all day, every day. But in his “trial run”, he came down with kennel cough and that same place wouldn’t let us keep him there because he had this affliction.

    “He caught it at your facility!”
    “Sorry, there’s nothing we can do.”
    “Shouldn’t you have somewhere you can keep dogs who caught kennel cough in your facility because we were following your policies?”
    “We don’t have anything like that.”

    I hate these kind of nonsensical death spirals of bad service that leave me yelling at people on the phone. Usually, it’s at people who have done nothing wrong and I hate that, too.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 22, 2009

  8. I hate that I stayed up way too late last night and the night before playing Plants v. Zombies. I hate that I’ll probably do the same thing again tonight.

    Comment by jms | September 22, 2009

  9. reading others i realize that healthy hatreds are outwardly
    i hate the pre-warmed by someone else bus seats, in the evenings, have to stand then if there are no other seats
    in the morning i’m the first passenger

    Comment by read | September 22, 2009

  10. I hate root rot, or whatever it is that is smiting my plants.

    I hate the persistence of my student loans. I pay and pay, a substantial sum every month, and yet my loans endure, seemingly undented. This is demoralizing.

    Comment by jms | September 22, 2009

  11. Speaking of student loans, I love, love, love that mine are no longer in default. I hate, however, how much I have left to repay.

    Having viewed that Taylor Swift video – an act which I blame on last week’s confessional thread – I’m reminded that I hate that American popular culture codes brunettes as bad girls and blondes as innocent naifs. I hate the whole virgin/whore thing generally, but to color code patriarchal archetypes seems gratuitous.

    I hate that I’ve developed a habit of regularly visiting websites and blogs which I not only do not enjoy reading, and have not enjoyed reading in years, but, on reflection, may never have enjoyed reading. Why do I visit the odious politicalwire.com, a site that manages to adopt an attitude towards politics which is simultaneously superficial and deathly earnest? Do I do this just to hate it, the way that Craig watches bad television just to hate bad television? Have I become addicted to hate? I would hate that.

    I hate my creepy, crooked boss.

    Comment by stras | September 22, 2009

  12. i can’t believe it took 20 min for the notebook to start, got virus ridden or mcafee is worse then virus blocking everything, b/c i switched to avast recently

    Comment by read | September 22, 2009

  13. I hate headaches and humidity.

    Comment by dave | September 22, 2009

  14. I agree with dave.

    Comment by ben | September 22, 2009

  15. I hate that I am awake.

    Comment by K-sky | September 23, 2009

  16. may i friend you, K? sorry, i thought in the heat of the moment you were comparing me to the pests

    Comment by read | September 23, 2009

  17. I hate how long the water takes to get hot when I turn on my kitchen or bathroom sink. In the kitchen in particular, we’re firmly in “turn it on and then walk away to do something else” territory.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 23, 2009

  18. should have written that through FB
    but i hate that my intuition like seldom fails me

    Comment by read | September 23, 2009

  19. I hate that the pot sink at work (I work in the college dining hall) sucks ass. The part I hate the most is the cold water handle, which always initially seems to let more cold water through the faucet, so you think that a cold + hot combo will be a nice warm water. But then the cold kicks back and it burns the living shit out of me, every time! I hate that I can’t really express this idea very well.

    Retroactive to last week, I hate when people stack trays on top of trays on top of trays on the conveyer belt to the dish room. Apparently they don’t realize that when this stacks disappear behind the wall, they inevitably have to fall down, and sometimes the glass salad plates shatter in the dish trough and cut the people who work in the kitchen.

    I hate humidity even more, today.

    Comment by dave | September 23, 2009

  20. Oh God, I hate even being reminded of working in the college dining hall.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 23, 2009

  21. I also hated working in the college dining hall.

    I knew someone who really liked washing the dishes there, though. Maybe he inspired me to become the dishwasher I am today.

    Comment by Ray Davis | September 23, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

