The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: a short and heavy manner of existing

I hate fellowship applications, or really any application or (to be completely general) any thing which involves submitting documents, in which the prescribed length of the document is put in terms of page numbers with a specific font and spacing scheme, rather than something sensible, such as word count. (Whether or not margins are also prescribed.) Obviously these people think that everyone composes his or her documents in Word or some such. WELL I DON’T!

I hate that the apples I bought specifically because I was told they would be good baking apples in fact turned to mush when I made a (pentagonal!) tart out of them. It was not tasty. Also the crust wasn’t very good. I hate that it’s starting to rain again. I hate sweating while clothed. I hate that I have hair in places I’d rather not have hair.

I dropped my phone the other day and ever since then it doesn’t reliably register the fact that I’ve opened it (it’s one of those slidey deals) when I have, or closed it after I’ve gotten it to realize that it’s been opened. I hate that. Ok, it started working normally again. I’m glad for the reversal, but I still hate the whole episode. I also hate the brokenness of soundchess’s handling of captures en passant.

There are people whose manner of speaking, the gait or, if you will, physiognomy of whose speech, makes it hard for me to believe that they will ever be loved.

October 13, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

28 Comments

  1. I hate Dick Vitale’s voice. I can’t stand listening to him. I also wish he would stick to basketball. I hate hearing about baseball in general, but hearing him talk about it makes it even worse.

    Comment by Richard McElroy | October 13, 2009

  2. Redhotpawn is better than Soundchess.

    I hate that my seemingly infinite supply of groceries has begun to run thin, bringing me face to face with the key question that will determine whether a carless lifestyle is possible. I hate that I’m too proud to seriously consider asking someone else to drive me to the grocery store — my thought is that if I’m voluntarily not having a car (i.e., I can easily afford one now), I shouldn’t rely on charity. But then people do need to go to the grocery store themselves, right? And taking me along isn’t a big deal, right? Bah.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 13, 2009

  3. people ask me whether i’d like to go to costco with them sometimes, very nice of them
    so i’ve bought for example last saturday a bag of the french pans(buns, maybe) which i’ve been eating now with the mixed fruits and nuts or salsa after microwaving the bun for the dinners, healthy! and the bun is chewy, that’s the problem with the french bread always, maybe they use some kind of different flour for them
    can’t buy though many other things, too big size of everything and what i buy tend to get spoilt, the best deal is just for the candies maybe which i don’t eat much anyway
    the phone i happened to drop several times before deciding to buy a case, if i waited three more months i could have bought 3GS, now should wait until next august to upgrade it

    Comment by read | October 13, 2009

  4. have, so i hated the chewiness of the french bread, forgot to say that

    Comment by read | October 13, 2009

  5. I hate that Richard hates hearing about baseball.

    Comment by Jon | October 13, 2009

  6. When are we going to suckerpunch Chad again? Man, I love doing that.

    Comment by burritoboy | October 13, 2009

  7. If he’s learned his lesson, I may have to radically rethink my whole idea of Chad.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 13, 2009

  8. It’s hardly a suckerpunch when a guy walks into the room and begs to be hit in the face.

    Comment by jms | October 13, 2009

  9. I hate self-lathering soap.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 13, 2009

  10. (I also hate it when jms doesn’t answer my e-mails.)

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 13, 2009

  11. Sorry, Adam. Your reply is in the mail.

    Comment by jms | October 13, 2009

  12. http://saveuvugirl.blogspot.com/
    http://www.mongolduu.com/
    I’m very sorry to disturb you all, please, click through the links.
    Thank you very much. I hope it will help her just a little bit
    sorry again

    Comment by read | October 13, 2009

  13. I hate the GRE. I hate that I’ve spent a large chunk of the past several weeks studying for it, when I could be doing a multitude of other things more worthwhile. I hate that I fear I won’t do well because of a misguided but persistent belief that I am by my very nature unable to do well on standardized tests, contra the results of most of the practice tests I’ve taken so far.

    I also hate that I’ve read quite a lot of books since I took my last standardized exam, yet none of them prepared me for the words „sybarite,“ „maudlin,“ or „rococo.“ This must obviously have been due to an error on my part, since the GRE Magis have deemed them to be Very Important Words.

    Finally, perhaps more than hating the GRE itself, I hate that I spend a lot of time hating the GRE. I also hate long arguments made against it, even though they’re right: but why waste time arguing against something so stupid and inane?

    Comment by Bryan Klausmeyer | October 13, 2009

  14. I hate Moodle.

    Comment by Jon | October 13, 2009

  15. I also hate Moodle.

    Comment by H Phelps | October 14, 2009

  16. I hate, but am also relieved, that I can sympathize with Bryan about the GREs. I hate them so much, yet I can’t seem to get away from them.

    I hate that I have to take the GRE again, because I’m convinced that my scores are too mediocre. I hate the entire math section, because it’s deliberately phrased to confuse you. I hate the verbal section because it’s a crapshoot.

    I hate that I can’t get away from my hate of the GRE, so much so that I signed on for another month of hating.

    Comment by dave | October 14, 2009

  17. always surprising that so young people are here, on average, GREs, hope i’ll graduate from H&C some time soon
    or maybe it means i’m young like soully

    Comment by read | October 14, 2009

  18. I hate job searches.

    Comment by stras | October 14, 2009

  19. What’s the big problem with Moodle? It’s a little clunky, but it works as a way of delivering PDFs to students (all I use it for).

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 14, 2009

  20. @Adam–NTS recently switched from Blackboard to Moodle to cut costs. My problem with Moodle is that it takes a lot more time to read through multiple threads and unread posts than did Blackboard. Having to use the back arrow gets annoying. It also does not allow for page customization to the degree that Blackboard did.

    However, I am a big fan of the calendar feature which allows the user to sync with iCal or import some other way.

    Comment by Jon | October 14, 2009

  21. WebCT/Blackboard, at least the versions I’ve had the displeasure of using, have been slow, unwieldly, poor layout, and, no doubt, really, really expensive. It is like a time capsule to the worst of the internet circa 2002. I’d much prefer having the ability to create a wordpress install on my computing account and just password protect posts with PDFs attached them. Unfortunately, such luxuries are not available to me.

    Comment by Craig | October 14, 2009

  22. I’ve found that it is much more difficult to organize content (for online courses) in Moodle, versus Blackboard. I agree with Jon that going through threads is much more of a task, as well. This is my first time using it, though.

    Comment by H Phelps | October 14, 2009

  23. Am I the only one who liked the GRE? Well, perhaps “liked” is a bit strong. I wouldn’t take it again for fun, even if I could do so for free. But it was a nice closed system, it was in-and-out in 2 hours or whatever, it was getting a score right away that made me feel, well, competent at something. Grad school, meanwhile–that shit’s hard. The GRE seems like happy times in retrospect.

    I suppose this comment makes me an asshole.

    Comment by transportinburma | October 15, 2009

  24. Transportinburma- Yes it does.

    Comment by Bryan Klausmeyer | October 15, 2009

  25. “always surprising that so young people are here, on average, GREs, hope i’ll graduate from H&C some time soon
    or maybe it means i’m young like soully”

    I last took the GRE’s 15 years ago, which gives you an idea how old I am.

    Adam,

    At least around here, Safeway delivers. No car needed.

    Comment by burritoboy | October 15, 2009

  26. i graduated the uni 15 yrs ago, hopefully GRE’s are for the grad schools, not undergrads? have no idea for what and am too lazy to look it up

    Comment by read | October 15, 2009

  27. “There are people whose manner of speaking, the gait or, if you will, physiognomy of whose speech, makes it hard for me to believe that they will ever be loved.”

    I loled. Hard.

    I hate that Omar Rodríguez-López insists on ruining his band’s stellar music with long, sloppy, unpleasant solos. Dude’s like the Jeff Hanneman of psychadelic hipster prog.

    I hate Blackwater Xe Services LLC. I hate Halliburton. I hate seeing non sequitur riddled, question-begging articles in supposedly first tier academic IR journals.

    Comment by Will | October 16, 2009

  28. from

    Comment by read | October 16, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

