The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Food: Halloween Edition

halloweenWhat better way is there to celebrate Halloween than with food?  Not necessarily just another holiday that the Mars candy conglomerate capitalizes on, I like to think of Halloween as yet another occasion to enjoy my favorite produce in my favorite season.

Roasted vegetables are all I crave this time of year and they could not be easier to prepare.  Just cut up how you like, combine with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, seasoning and fresh herbs, and throw into a hot oven until tender to taste.  I find acorn squash, when tossed with melted butter and salt and pepper, is almost dessert with its natural sweetness and beautiful texture.  And if you’re very lucky, the vegetables you roast may be from the farmers market or CSA or your patio planter (my own potatoes are pictured.)

So enjoy the crunch and sweetness of your roasted vegetables, the earthy smell of leaf decay, and drink up the last of those pumpkin beers.  I know I will, in a rockin dinosaur costume to boot.  Happy Halloween!

October 31, 2009 - Posted by | Wednesday Food

2 Comments

  1. I can’t wait for my first batch of roasted parsnips, a new fave root veg….Post on those new squash too!

    Comment by Vanessa | October 31, 2009

  2. Now I want roasted vegetables, but it’s 1am! Stupid cravings.

    Comment by Sarah | November 3, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

