The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Candle Ends

I confess that not having had any break this weekend continues to take its toll. Last night I went to bed at 9:30, which is pretty early for me; I woke up in the morning to find that my parents had called at 9:45 and it didn’t wake me up at all. I confess that I’m ready for the quarter to be over. I confess that I am still having trouble not calling academic terms “semesters.”

I confess that my chess addiction seems to be less severe when I’m on a winning streak. I confess that last week I got one of the periodic “this blog post reeks of arrogance and self-importance; people should hate you”-type comments, and they still bother me. That’s one advantage that face-to-face interactions have — if people feel that way in public, they usually keep it to themselves. I doubt that someone would come to a conference session where I was presenting, for example, and say, “This is more a comment than a question: I think it’s really fucked-up that you think people want to hear this and inflict your pompous opinions on us by reading them out loud. I mean, it’s fucking pathetic. Did mommy not give you enough attention? That’s all I can conclude!”

I confess that I don’t feel like I have a real “home” right now. In Kalamazoo, my apartment kind of feels like home but the city doesn’t, while in Chicago, the city feels like home and The Girlfriend’s apartment, being her apartment obviously, does not really feel like home. (All my previous apartments felt like they could go on indefinitely.)

Isn’t it pathetic that I’m writing this stuff, though? I mean, who, on the Internet, ever talks about their personal life, random feelings, etc.? It’s really a uniquely arrogant thing that only I do.

November 13, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

10 Comments

  1. I confess that I’ve spent more time in the past week on programming-related program activities than on philosophy-related. I confess, furthermore, that I feel as if I’ve been spending too much time in the east bay lately—as if I’m getting too spread out, or something. (Certainly between that and going to campus 3-4 times a week I’m spending a lot of time on various trains.)

    Comment by ben | November 13, 2009

  2. I confess that I made a confession last week while doing some homework at Panera. After hitting the Submit button the comment appeared on the screen but was no longer in the comment thread when I checked back later in the day. I suspect that my confession made its way to a WordPress Spam box.

    I confess that I’m a bit nervous about my doctor’s appointment this morning.

    I confess that I don’t understand why people wear scarves for reasons other than keeping your neck warm and protected during cold, windy, snowy weather. I’ve never worn a comfortable t-shirt and thought, “You know, a really itchy scarf would go perfectly with this.”

    Comment by Monica | November 13, 2009

  3. I confess I, Jon, made comment #2, not my wife.

    Comment by Jon | November 13, 2009

  4. Finally, I confess that I saw the preview last night for *The Road* and I’m really excited to see it.

    Comment by Jon | November 13, 2009

  5. I confess that I only just now took the air conditioner out of my window, after getting a heating bill that seemed a bit too high for such a small apartment.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 13, 2009

  6. Don’t worry about it Adam, we’ve had ours out of the windows and on the floor for over a month, lacking the will to schlep them to the basement.

    I confess that when I sleep alone in my apartment I have to keep a light on in the hall, not because I can’t see without it, but because I would have no warning against aliens and monsters (somehow I’m never concerned about a human intruder.)

    Comment by ebolden | November 13, 2009

  7. I confess that I miss having a microwave.

    Comment by ben | November 13, 2009

  8. i confess i dread coming to the freezing cold apartment, why they wouldn’t give enough heat in November, I’ve opened all the valves on radiators, in the morning it’s hot and dry, hateful
    i’ll end up with rheumatoid or something

    Comment by read | November 13, 2009

  9. today it feels not that cold, great, can live then for now
    yesterday it was really like suffering, but now i think maybe it was my own fault always leave the windows open so that there is circulation, left them shut today b/c it was cold, and the heat perhaps stayed

    Comment by read | November 13, 2009

  10. Isn’t it pathetic that I’m writing this stuff, though? I mean, who, on the Internet, ever talks about their personal life, random feelings, etc.? It’s really a uniquely arrogant thing that only I do.

    It’s all a matter of scale, sir. If everyone is doing it more than you, you’re golden.

    Comment by Rachel | November 14, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

