The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday: Letting someone else do the work.

Brad pointed me toward this brilliant analysis of The Office, starting from the presupposition that it’s an artistic expression of a theory of management. His core contention is that firms are made up of sociopaths (upper management) and losers (basically people who coast by), with clueless people (middle management) acting as a buffer.

November 19, 2009 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

12 Comments

  1. Both brilliant and deeply depressing.

    Comment by Di Kotimy | November 19, 2009

  2. Why is Andy classified as an overperformer? I can see Dwight as such, but not Andy, who seems to be more of a loser who has not realized that he is a loser–Dwight is proud of being the top salesman and he thinks this will lead to promotion, but won’t; Andy is proud of cultural accoutrements that he thinks should give him admittance to the sociopaths, but doesn’t.

    Tonight’s episode, based upon the description, should have some excellent sociopathic content.

    Also: really great that Ellen and Jo died in “Supernatural” tonight. Been waiting for that for years. I’m looking forward to watching “Twilight” tomorrow night.

    Comment by Craig | November 19, 2009

  3. Tonight’s episode … should have some excellent … content …

    I’m looking forward to watching “Twilight” tomorrow night.

    What was that thing Adam said once about Craig being a reverse aesthetic barometer?

    Comment by stras | November 20, 2009

  4. I’ll note that Craig said that, not me. I merely implied that he was.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 20, 2009

  5. Andy is a 3 and Dwight is a 5. Enneagram-wise. Michael is a 7.

    Comment by K-sky | November 20, 2009

  6. Having not yet seen “Twilight,” I am in no position to judge its aesthetic (or other) merits. In principle, I have nothing against “tween” literature–I enjoyed the “Harry Potter” series.

    As for the “reverse barometer,” I feel APS is responsible for that, possibly emerging out of my affection (and his lack thereof) for “True Blood.” My view is that if I made any comment to that effect, it was during Adam’s “film” binge where I dismissed the idea of “film” out of hand preferring, for my tastes at least, “movies.”

    With regard to last night’s episode of “The Office,” it wasn’t worst the of the season, although the “Jim-gets-no-respect” arc is a little boring. Michael perfectly displayed his absolute inability to understand corporate and Oscar was good with his anemic rage. Likewise, the final scene with Dwight not understanding the whole idea of a shareholder’s meeting was great.

    Comment by Craig | November 20, 2009

  7. I think you literally said “reverse barometer,” in the context of a comment saying you resented being thought of as one.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 20, 2009

  8. Entirely possible–however, I am saddened that I coined (as it were) a term and have no memory of it. I still blame APS.

    Comment by Craig | November 20, 2009

  9. I’m saddened that people are still watching The Office. Watching that show now is like watching The Simpsons circa 2002 – you know all the life has gone out of it, but that its zombie corpse is going to shuffle on for a good long while.

    Comment by stras | November 20, 2009

  10. The thing I like most about Stras is that even my extreme levels of anger, bitterness and other associated anti-social emotions do not begin to compare. A model worth emulating.

    Comment by Craig | November 21, 2009

  11. Were that true, Craig, I’d still be watching The Office right now – along with Twilight, Supernatural, and God knows what else, just to have the satisfaction of complaining about how bad they are on the internet.

    Comment by stras | November 22, 2009

  12. You aren’t even watching “The Office” and, yet, you complain about how bad it is. That is an amazing feat. I’ll post a review of “Twilight” to my own blog tomorrow. I enjoyed it immensely.

    Comment by Craig | November 22, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

