The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Hatesgiving Day: First we cook, then we chill

It’s that time of year again, that time when we remember what’s happened in the past year, the big and the little both, which we hate. But the little and big on a grand scale, please: do not limit yourself to the events or feelings of the past week! Think of it, if you like, as a purgative ritual, preceding the events of Thursday.

I can hardly manage the synopsis producing hatreds in line with what my own demands require, so you’ll get mostly the usual weekly annoyances from me: I hate that I left for socal without having put more thought into what to make for dessert for thanksgiving. I hate certain aspects of my living situation, such as the weird social limbo that the public spaces, and those who enter into them, occupy. I hate the SF rental market. I hate the inconsistency of my work habits. I hate how little I exercise. I hate the general way I relate to people I don’t already know fairly well.

November 24, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. i hate losing my temper too often, need behavioral therapy or what
    i hate i planned my work poorly that i have to come on thursday to count the cells
    globally, i hate reading news, everytime i read google news for example there are so many awful news, the yahoo news frontpage is enough for me to skim the titles

    Comment by read | November 24, 2009

  2. I hate every new sign of the terminal decline of this blog.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | November 24, 2009

  3. I hate “Christmas” “music.”

    Comment by Craig | November 24, 2009

  4. I hate that my eyes get so tired lately that by the end of the day it’s hard for me to see properly, and especially to read xeroxed musical scores with other people’s messy notations (nonstandard!) scribbled all over, which, by the way, I hate. I guess I need new glasses. I hate going to the optometrist or to doctors of any sort.

    I hate the undertaking of huge legal and financial transactions which require that I “read” and sign like a thousand pieces of paper. Surely it’s an understood fiction that the recipient and signatory of such voluminous and incomprehensible documents actually reads any of them.

    Comment by jms | November 24, 2009

  5. people are just traveling or are already in a joyful holiday mood
    i hated today the shuttle bus driver didn’t answer to my greeting, usually i’m pretty apologetic, mol, one is in a bad mood, bad day or what, but still, a cute young black lady driver and won’t answer to my good evening and night, and why they just so hate asians i don’t get
    i don’t like China much, preconditioned that way like historically i guess, but the Chinese people i met abroad are always the most polite and friendly people
    Indian women coworkers are also strangely hostile, though the guys are always friendly, Russians back home were all pretty open people, here a few people i met are mostly reserved, won’t even talk in Russian, so i got it, it’s like they would like to assimilate somehow, when, on the contrary, Chinese wouldn’t or couldn’t even if they wanted, so they are behaving naturally
    strange world

    Comment by read | November 24, 2009

  6. I did not know that you had cause to read music scores, jms.

    I confess that I harbor a crush on jms.

    Comment by ben | November 24, 2009

  7. ben, you’re such a tease.

    Comment by jms | November 25, 2009

  8. Counterpoint: no I’m not.

    Comment by ben | November 25, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

