The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Haircut

I confess that my lack of a car and my busy weekend schedule in Chicago have conspired to exacerbate my tendency to put off getting a haircut. I confess that I finally went to the barber shop after the following IM exchange:

Adam: Why am I so incredibly reluctant to get a haircut?
Anthony: You like having Seinfeld hair?

The Girlfriend, on being told of this exchange, said that perhaps Kramer hair would be more descriptive. I confess that at the barber shop, the guy getting his haircut next to me overhead my conversation and wanted to talk to me, but I didn’t really follow up on it because I didn’t feel like I could really turn my head at will with the haircut in progress.

I confess that there’s what one might call an Unhealth Foods restaurant near The Girlfriend’s house, which makes pretty good gyros. This will probably help my health levels considerably.

I confess that I’m feeling overwhelmed because of the arbitrary goal I set for myself of completing a full draft of the translation by Christmas. (I don’t need to submit anything to the publisher until March.)

I confess that I’ve submitted grades for the fall quarter, thereby wrapping up my first full term of teaching.

December 4, 2009 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

11 Comments

  1. I confess I no longer hate my library booksale book bully.

    My local branch library has a monthly booksale. It’s pretty great — the books are 25 cents for a paperback, a dollar for a hardcover, and there are lots of good finds. You want to get there early, because although they replenish the tables throughout the day, the proportion of chaff to wheat rises as the selections are picked over, and by late afternoon the books are like ninety percent Chicken Soup for the Idiot’s Guide.

    Because the books are so cheap, you feel a kind of civic duty to only buy the ones you really want, so that all the books can find homes with people who will optimize their usefulness.

    Except that there’s this one guy who brings a bunch of big packing boxes and just speeds through the tables, really plows through them, and snatches up like every halfway interesting book. He is super aggressive. The first time we encountered him, years ago, M named him the Book Bully. The Book Bully has a disability and uses a wheelchair, which he jams up against the tables, knowing full well that people are too shy to reach around him or to ask him to move. When somebody, say for instance me, asks him if he wouldn’t mind letting me through so that I can reach Vols I and II of HG Wells’ Outline of HIstory, he does not reply and instead puts said books into his own box. Whenever the stockpeople come to replenish the tables, the Book Bully blocks their entrance so that he can get first dibs on whatever they’ve got. The Book Bully is an asshole.

    Well it turns out, and this was pretty obvious from the start, that he’s a bookseller himself. Late one night a couple of weeks ago, I walked into a decrepit little used bookstore in another part of town. It had thousands of jumbled up books. A lot of good selections, but they were kind of expensive. I bought a history book with a nice embossed cover. It was twelve dollars. The store was minded by two loud, angry old lefties, one of them in a wheelchair. They were friendly enough, in their condescending old-white-dude-talking-to-a-young-woman-of-color way. But I liked them, and I liked their store.

    It wasn’t until I was at the monthly booksale last weekend and saw the Book Bully again that I remembered why I thought I recognized the guy at the bookstore. He was being his usual asshole self, making a mad grab for inventory that he will no doubt sell to suckers like me at a 1000-2000% markup. The people around him were frowning and rolling their eyes, impatient for him to finish so that they could have a chance at whatever he rejected. I couldn’t get angry at him, though. I used to hate him, but for some dumb reason I kind of like him now.

    Comment by jms | December 4, 2009

  2. I confess:

    To pride at the receptions of two recently-made tarts, one of pear and frangipane for thanksgiving and one of quince and frangipane for the following Thursday’s Top Chef–watching in Berkeley.

    To thinking, on BART on the way back to SF after said Thursday’s activities, as I picked up “Content Preservation” after having had a fair amount of wine, “I want to have sex with Tyler Burge”. (Really, I don’t.)

    That people who enjoyed Synecdoche, New York should really consider reading Tom McCarthy’s Remainder.

    Comment by ben | December 4, 2009

  3. i confess i’m going to meet a filmmaker, writer, 4 yrs older, i confess though i always thought that filmmakers have no trouble meeting people, all those starlets like
    but maybe the person is a documaker specializing on some rare wildlife
    i confess i have a cold sore, but luckily inside my nose, not on the lips

    Comment by read | December 4, 2009

  4. I confess to using Facebook as sort of a proxy for what should be a more genuine and rigorous writing habit.

    For example, I’ve had a graphic novel idea for quite a while and instead of just sitting down and putting in the time to hammer out the idea, I sit down and write a Facebook note or status update – witty and hilarious, sure – that’s not nearly as productive or challenging.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 4, 2009

  5. I confess that the Thanksgiving Day sunlight was jarring as I emerged from the movie theater after seeing *The Road*. I confess that I watched this movie by myself in an AMC Fork & Screen venue and thoroughly enjoyed it. I confess that I ordered chicken tenders at 10:00 am.

    Comment by Jon | December 4, 2009

  6. I confess that I have taught my last class of the term. I also confess that I got a haircut yesterday.

    Comment by hugh | December 4, 2009

  7. I confess that I just took a 3 hr. nap.

    Comment by dave | December 4, 2009

  8. in
    I confess I can’t sleep
    it’s unfortunate I dropped by U and happened to read the thread on war and did my dislike of certain people grow strong as ever
    that Ari guy is a little histerical hitler, my mental image of him fits the archetype so well
    and dear old m is as whiny as ever, hope d2 will drop by there more often and slap them well from time to time

    Comment by read | December 5, 2009

  9. hysterical to be correct, but I like rhyming of his and hitler

    Comment by read | December 5, 2009

  10. I confess that I have swine flu.

    Comment by Matthew | December 5, 2009

  11. I confess that, though I love Christmas music, I don’t particularly like the Bing Crosby/David Bowie “Little Drummer Boy”. It’s nowhere near as awesome as it ought to be, at least not until 1:30, when the “Every child must be made to care / care enough for his fellow man” starts to swing a little bit.

    Comment by K-sky | December 7, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

