The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Food: Beer Bread

I am very much a fair weather bread maker (a monger by no means).  Most of my uneasiness about the art of the loaf is tied up in an irrational anxiety over yeast.  Of course the reality is that a bit of warm water and sometimes sugar is all that’s needed to make the little yahoos go berserk.  Still, it is at the very idea of yeast and all their goings-on that I become nonplussed and a bit queasy.

It was with great joy then, that I happened upon yeastless Beer Bread over at Foodiefarmgirl (a treat for the James Herriot fan within).  The recipe base is four ingredients you are already sure to possess, with the addition of a bottle of beer and selected flavoring.  My first go was with queso fresco and ground coriander, then this morning I salvaged what I could from a suffering winter herb garden for garlic herb bread.  My next experiment will undoubtedly involve sun-dried tomatoes and whole wheat.  For both loaves I used Left Hand’s Milk Stout– stouts and porters seem best suited for bread– which delivered a subtle yeasty flavor and mild bitterness.

Whether you are defeated by troublesome yeast or the onset of bitter and ravaging weather (anyone else in the midwest?), be glad for the ease of beer bread that urges all to keep calm and carry on.

December 9, 2009 - Posted by | Wednesday Food

12 Comments

  1. I ♥ coriander.

    Comment by ben | December 9, 2009

  2. ben, did you try the demeter cilantro?

    Comment by jms | December 9, 2009

  3. I’m going to have a go at this RIGHT NOW in the holiday spirit of procrastination.

    In place of dill, should I use:

    1. the tops of the not-new fennel in the fridge
    2. fresh… sage, parsley, or oregano
    3. dried… sage, basil, oregano or tarragon
    4. Whole fennel seeds

    I’m leaning towards dried sage, just off the smell.

    Comment by K-sky | December 9, 2009

  4. Oh, there’s a bunch of suggestions at the other site. I went with dried rosemary 1:1 for the dill.

    Comment by K-sky | December 9, 2009

  5. That worked okay!

    Comment by K-sky | December 9, 2009

  6. Thanks for the play-by-play, K-sky. I highly recommend any selection of ingredients that include cheese.

    And coriander is completely crush-worthy.

    Comment by ebolden | December 9, 2009

  7. ben, did you try the demeter cilantro?

    NO but maybe the next time I’m in a department store I will check it (& that garage thing) out.

    Comment by ben | December 9, 2009

  8. I said this in another thread in another place, but you should come down to LA, to Scent Bar, where they have every nice thing available to smell.

    Comment by jms | December 10, 2009

  9. Well I might just do that the next time I’m near LA.

    Comment by ben | December 10, 2009

  10. Weblog meetup at the fragrance counter!

    Comment by jms | December 10, 2009

  11. Oh beer. Beer beer beer. And bread. Done.

    Comment by Vanessa | December 10, 2009

  12. […] a quick loaf of beer bread on the side.  See my sister’s post on the easiest recipe since toast here, using Left Hand Brewing Company’s Milk […]

    Pingback by Round 2…..Tapout. « Hopflower | December 19, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

