The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Tomlinsoniad

Actually, I’m kind of at a loss. My only recent complaints are the same ones I’ve long had, and familiarity has, in this case, bred not contempt but maundering near-indifference. My hatred has long since been ground up fine and is no more than the daily salt and pepper of my life (one might say without giving credit to its source). Can I even work up hatred regarding my inability to be either hot or cold? No, not really.

December 22, 2009 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

6 Comments

  1. I hate dumb commercials. Right now, there’s a commercial for Bud Light Golden Wheat where they show Bud Light courting Golden Wheat at the office and ends by saying they hooked up. So a beer had sex with golden wheat and I’m supposed to drink their offspring? Interesting.

    Worse, is a commercial (probably for a credit card) where some sort of small business owner says what they’re selling allows her to save “one of these and one of these”. She holds up a mannequin arm and a mannequin leg. If they would’ve stopped there, it’s moderately clever.

    But she goes on to clarify verbally, “An arm and a leg”. It crosses over from thinking it’s sort of clever the first time you see it, to a bit condescending and insulting.

    This isn’t the kind of hatred where I yell at the TV or anything. I just cringe when these commercials – and any commercial the jewelry store Jared has ever done – come on.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 22, 2009

  2. During a sleepless night I hate when I finally start dozing off and then suddenly become aware that sleep is within reach which propels me into at least another hour of tossing, turning and bad television.

    Comment by Jon | December 22, 2009

  3. Ooh, I hate the Jared commercials. So let me get this straight: your BF proposes to you, and you quickly text your girlfriends. Fine. But what do you text them? Not “He proposed!” or “We’re getting married!” but rather “He went to Jared!”? Really? We’re supposed to believe that the recipient of the ring in the commercial thinks of the proposal in terms of where the ring was purchased? If the ring had been purchased at Kay Jewelers, would she have been unexcited?

    Comment by transportinburma | December 22, 2009

  4. My favorite part of Jared is its subtitle: “The Galleria of Jewelry.”

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 22, 2009

  5. I hate that no matter how many times I’ve won in a day, losing at chess still puts me in a foul mood.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 22, 2009

  6. I hate my unprecedented THREE CONSECUTIVE LOSSES IN ONE DAY at chess. FAUGH.

    Comment by ben | December 22, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

