The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Reflections on New Year’s Eve

Is there a more intrinsically disappointing holiday that New Year’s Eve? Every year I feel the pressure: HAVE FUN! HAVE FUN! But that is precisely the way to ensure that one does not have fun, something I have proven definitively by rigorously failing to have fun every single New Year’s Eve of my life. The closest I came to having fun was a party at my place in Bourbonnais, where for various reasons … I fell asleep at 10pm.

December 30, 2009 - Posted by | boredom

9 Comments

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever been to an honest to God party on New Year’s Eve. Sure, there were the family get togethers when I was young. Later, there would be a few of us who got together.

    Now, we usually get together with another couple or family and just hang out. It’s fun, but you never have the big room full of people with the noisemakers, champagne and balloons like you imagine from somebody having fun on New Year’s Eve.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 30, 2009

  2. New Year’s always ends up being another year gone for me, not some rapturous clean-slate celebration of the year to come. And then, with an immediately following birthday, I am a year older. It’s like a slap in the face from Mortality.

    Comment by ebolden | December 30, 2009

  3. You know, that was kind of a fun New Years Eve.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | December 30, 2009

  4. I’m lobbying to stay home this year, though M as usual wants plans. (I want to cook a nice meal at home and walk the half block to the movie theater. Why isn’t that enough?) I admit I had a good time last year, although tradition and filial pieties require me to drive to my parents’ house at the fucking crack of dawn on Jan. 1, and any fun I have on NYE means I spend the morning staring down a bowl of rice cake soup trying not to vomit while the room spins around me. I still get new year’s money, though, so there’s that.

    Anyway. It’s been a difficult 2009, but also a good one.

    Comment by jms | December 31, 2009

  5. I always have fun on New Year’s. Sorry. I had to face up to it recently.

    Comment by K-sky | December 31, 2009

  6. Isn’t that just part of our glamorous intellectual lifestyle? I never feel emptier and more isolated than at church, never feel more absurd than at a funeral, never feel more fraudulent than when published…. And as a hedonist, I particularly welcome the spiritual discipline of the New Year’s Chastening.

    Of course it probably helps if you like getting drunk.

    Comment by Ray Davis | December 31, 2009

  7. Here, here. I have made it a point in recent years to be asleep before midnight, which prevents reflection on whether or not I’m having fun. I may break new ground this year, however, since I have tickets to see The Roots tonight. Given that I will enter the new year during this concert, there is a very good chance I will be having fun when it happens. I’d be at this concert whether or not it occurred on New Year’s Eve, however.

    Comment by Hill | December 31, 2009

  8. GD homophones.

    Comment by Hill | December 31, 2009

  9. I think I’d love to have fun on New Years, and I have at times had great times, but it always felt like an accident unrelated to the holiday. This year (it’s 2010 in England) was kind of awkward.

    Comment by Anthony Paul Smith | December 31, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

