The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Touching Bottom

I confess that this week I finally managed to “touch bottom” on job applications, clearing the deck of all the jobs I thought I could plausibly apply to. I confess that this is a profound relief to me, as I find job applications to be the least rewarding academic duty of them all — the only potential benefit being that it gives me a chance to reflect on my research ambitions and try to formulate them in a clear and concise way. I confess that I found the symbolism a little heavy-handed, though, when the first job talk for the Kalamazoo job was scheduled for the time I had set aside to complete the applications.

I confess that I got a lot of positive feedback on my teaching this week and that I called my mom (also a teacher) to tell her so. I confess that I’ve felt increasingly like I’m constantly interrupting people when I’m on the phone lately, and during this conversation, the pieces fell together. Over the break, The Girlfriend got a new phone and asked me to call it for testing purposes. As one does, I talked as though it was a sincere call, and it was clear that there was a notable delay between when I talked and when my voice came out of the phone. I confess that this displeases me, but it also reaffirms my resolve to make sure to use my office phone in the event that I get a phone interview.

I confess that the lack of good new TV lately has made me sad. I confess that my On Demand being down for an hour or so one night this week made me extra sad. The TV feels basically useless without anything new on the DVR or any access to On Demand.

I confess that I have been using DropBox since moving to Kalamazoo. My intention was to simplify file transfers between my home and work computers, but the result has been to throw my files into absolute chaos. It might be more helpful if I had installed the DropBox software on my work computer, but that requires administrator privileges, and I would have to call the Help Desk to ask about that, and I hate talking on the phone, and…. Maybe someday soon Google will buy up DropBox and I’ll trust it will be around forever and just put all my files onto it.

I confess that I’ve been way too busy and stressed out to concentrate on chess and as a result have been losing rampantly. This has had a negative impact on my mood far out of proportion to its actual significance.

January 8, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

8 Comments

  1. I confess that I accomplished almost nothing today. I confess that I am a bundle of neuroses. I confess that these confessions are terrible.

    Comment by ben wolfson | January 8, 2010

  2. I confess to devoting far too many thought cycles to the failure of someone to answer an email of mine. I confess to self-doubt with respect to–what else?–matter opposite-sexual.

    I confess I am (sort of) watching The Guardian right now. I further confess that I have watched this movie–in its entirety, no less–before. I confess that during this previous watching, I wondered whether any members of the USCG were gratified to see a depiction of their important yet often overlooked work portrayed on screen.

    Comment by transportinburma | January 8, 2010

  3. I confess to touching someone’s bottom.

    Comment by jms | January 8, 2010

  4. I confess I’m sleepy b/c slept ten hrs with three interruptions skype, pee and just early morning awakening, if to subtract in between times it’s 7 hrs I guess and this bus is too warm

    Comment by read | January 8, 2010

  5. I confess to being a bit stymied when it comes to matching “You’re in my prayers” when expressing sympathies for somebody else’s misfortunes. That seems like the perfect thing to put down when you’re somebody who actually prays as it’s kind, probably true and probably just what the person receiving the card wants to hear.

    As somebody who doesn’t pray, I often have trouble coming up with something to write when the sympathy cards are passed around the office. Of course, it’s probably just narcissistic on my part anyway because nobody at work who’s going through a bad time is sitting around wondering what I put on their sympathy card.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | January 8, 2010

  6. i confess what a waste of emotional energy coming to work in the skirt if i can’t attend the party due to my inattention to the time of its beginning

    Comment by read | January 8, 2010

  7. I confess that I continue to look at graduate programs ad infinitum, even though I’ve probably exhausted all of the internet space devoted to such things. I confess that I often look at the websites of several of the departments I’ve applied to. I confess that I’m very eager for school to start Monday, to give me some concrete distractions (classes, friends).

    I confess that after keeping a journal last semester, I decided that keeping a journal was absolutely essential to intellectual growth. I confess that I have not written in the journal since the end of the semester (it was written in conjunction with a very interesting class). I confess that I said during the class that this was the first time I’ve ever kept a journal in my life, but while cleaning my old desk over break, I found a journal that I apparently kept in the spring of 2008. I confess that after reading a random part of it, I don’t want to read anymore.

    Comment by Dave Mesing | January 9, 2010

  8. I confess to being so tired and drunk by 10:10 last night that I missed about a fifth of The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus. I think it was very good. I confess that the drunk came from a martini made from Hendrick’s Gin followed by some sort of whitish Belgian beer. I confess that I don’t know whence came the tired.

    Comment by K-sky | January 9, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

