The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Bad Air!

I hate having a stuffy nose, and everything else that comes with a cold. I hate being cold and the fact that my space heater just dries the air out. I hate trying to sleep with a stuffed-up nose. I hate that lying supine exaggerates the stuffedness of one’s nose. I also hate it when I run out of tissue paper in the night.

You know that sort of fluppy-buzzy noise that a straw makes as it sucks up the insufficient remainders at the bottom of a cup, something seen by most normal adults as a sign that the drink has been incontrovertibly finished, who therefore do not persist in it, as being both bootless and impolite? There’s a man old enough to have a bald spot sitting in front of me who apparently never in his long life learned these truths and he’s making a lot of noise. I hate it, but more than that I hate his parents. Oughtn’t they have taught him not to do that? Mine did. With me, I mean. He’s been doing it for about ten minutes now.

January 12, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

9 Comments

  1. it’s a chance to complain, great
    so I hate the way some young white female students sit in the cafeteria, with all the feet on the chair
    maybe they feel themselves so awesome and uninhibited or their shoes so awesome and clean, but people will sit on that chair after you!
    I remember I stared at one young lady long enough to bring jeer feet to the floor
    and was relieved to see a black female student sitting that way, so it’s not a racial thing, but generational, still the ratio is 10 to 1 so far, approximately
    curiously, I never see male students sitting the same way, they wouldn’t look as cute and endearing as females I got it upon some thinking

    Comment by read | January 12, 2010

  2. her and medstudents

    Comment by read | January 12, 2010

  3. I hate the chronic cough I’ve developed in the last few days. I had a similar condition last year, and — warning! graphic content: — it caused me to produce such a large wad of phlegm that I threw up while attempting to bring it up. I hated that.

    I also hate the dripping water strategically positioned to land right in front of my steps. I hate burning my tongue on my coffee, though I discussed this matter with one of my colleagues and she claimed to enjoy burning her tongue and in fact claimed that she would microwave cups of coffee repeatedly in an effort to burn her tongue yet again. I hate that interlibrary loan has supplied me with volume one of a work, of which I wanted (and thought I requested) volume two. I hate that my attempts to track down this source seem to have been uniquely star-crossed.

    I hate it when people at Union Station line up for Amtrak trains, even hours in advance. What is this mania for forming lines? What do they think the seating in the waiting area is for? Why do they seem to have no awareness that they’re completely blocking the hallway? Invariably, experienced Amtrak traveller that I am, I push through the lines to find ample space for standing in the waiting room, and when boarding starts, I simply step into the line — a “dick move” in other circumstances, perhaps, but one that is warranted insofar as I don’t think that the line has any valid claim on me until the boarding call and therefore in an important sense it does not exist qua line before that point. Hence I am simply taking part in forming the real line, with no regard for the spurious line that preceded it.

    Once I was waiting for a train and a conductor made the following announcement: “If you are waiting in line for the Indiana train, just walk directly to the gate — there’s no line, no waiting.” These people were so obsessed with lining up that they were going to miss the train! And there is no indication from any of the conductors, ever, that there was a need for a line. People just ask those in the line what train they’re waiting for and make their way to the end of this voluntary line — and again, they’re completely clogging the hallway when there would be plenty of room in the waiting room if they’d adopt a “standing around” policy rather than their idiotic fucking lines!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 12, 2010

  4. Addendum: I hate that iTunes shuffle seems to get into ruts of playing the same things, in the same order, time and time again.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 12, 2010

  5. I hate dry eyes, dry skin and the way my nose starts to run whenever it’s exposed to the cold. I hate how my desire to avoid the cold feeds my increasingly cloistered lifestyle. I hate how much of a weather-wimp I’ve become since moving to Providence, and how every winter serves as a reminder of how soft and flabby I’ve become over the years, and how when civilization collapses I will quickly be devoured by faster, leaner predators.

    I hate the president, the US Congress and the automobile. I hate Buddy Cianci and all his pomps.

    Comment by stras | January 12, 2010

  6. I hate the term “investment universe.”

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 12, 2010

  7. i hate i returned to the desk to pick up the marker and next thing i find myself checking blogs
    if 3 out of 4 are cold stricken, i feel myself justified to offer selenium supplements to shorten the duration of the colds
    though i know it’s rude and intrusive to offer sympathies and advices on the health matters, sorry

    Comment by read | January 12, 2010

  8. I hate oversalting on the sidewalks.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | January 12, 2010

  9. I hate what the salt has done to the shoes I bought only two months ago.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 12, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

