The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Tar Macadam

When, following a talk, the chair moves the gathering directly into the question period, with no time having been allotted as an intermission in which the assembled can gather their thoughts together the better to phrase and even come up with a question, that is something I hate, whether I am involved or not. I also hate academic books the entirety of whose text is set in a monospaced face. What? I also hate the word “orientate”.

I hate my habit of reading essays that cross my path for no particular reason (I mean I read them for no particular reason (other than their having crossed my path), not that they cross my path for no particular reason, though I suppose many of them do that as well)—especially because it often leads to the following uncomfortable and indeed hate-worthy situation: reading something else later, not infrequently another arbitrarily embarked-upon essay, I come across something that makes me think “didn’t I read [or begin] an essay about that?”. Sometimes I can go on to recall in greater detail what it was, but only very rarely can I recall anything that would help me track it down again—author or title, for instance. O frustration, relent!

I hate that I can’t open files that are in the trash, in OSX. Sometimes I just want to see what something is, and only after doing that decide to remove it from the trash. Why should I have to take it out just to open it and likely put it back?

January 19, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. i don’t like much mobile sites it seems, two more clicks to see the post and comments

    Comment by read | January 19, 2010

  2. I hate that I can’t do all the things I want done around my house on my own (fix and remodel bathroom, build second story deck out back, finish basement, etc). I propose somebody let me make a TV show where the producers provide supplies and record my efforts at doing all these things.
    They could even call the show something at my expense, like “The reasons contractors exist” or “How not to renovate your home”. I would only ask that they have a professional intervene if I were doing something that could lead to my immediate death or the eventual death of somebody in my home.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | January 19, 2010

  3. I hate insomnia. I hate that sleep deprivation produces such hysteria in me that this morning I cried over a bug infestation on my sage plant.

    Comment by ebolden | January 19, 2010

  4. the other day i was wandering around browsing and then found the links to tW and LH from woo/dslot and mrw/aggish and felt very shy, wah, people read perhaps about my laundry habits like thousands of them, not only a dozen with who i don’t interact much
    the proof is kinda like there, fushigi

    Comment by read | January 19, 2010

  5. crying over bugs is okay reaction, sending emails to other people’s spam folder is truly strange

    Comment by read | January 19, 2010

  6. I hate packing. I spent like four hours at it yesterday, and managed to pack one box of videos and dvds, and one box of shoes. Though the results of my efforts were meager they were accompanied by disproportionate wailing and gnashing of teeth. O stack of like two dozen laboriously pirated but unlabeled dvds, what do I do with you? Must I really feed each of you, one after another, into my computer to determine your contents, which is going to take me, Jesus Holy Christ, forever? Or can I just throw all of you in the trash, even though I suspect that at least one of you contains the transferred home video footage from my brother’s childhood that I’ve been missing for the past year and which is unique in this world? And, o many large and heavy videos of Neon Genesis Evangelion, you don’t even belong to me, and I’ve never gotten around to watching you, and what a pain to have to take you with me to my new home! But it would require a lot of emotional effort to seek out the person to whom you rightfully belong, and boy am I not ready to do that right now.

    And etcetera. The saga continues tonight.

    Comment by jms | January 20, 2010

  7. Also the rain, what the fuck. I thought rain had been outlawed during like the second Bradley administration.

    Comment by jms | January 20, 2010

  8. My rain-filled commute was much better than it might otherwise have been, but I suspect the novelty of being clad shoulder-to-toe in rain gear will wear off shortly.

    Comment by ben | January 20, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

